Dry battery for EZ Flash IV?

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by GeekyGuy, Jul 15, 2009.

Jul 15, 2009

Dry battery for EZ Flash IV? by GeekyGuy at 3:12 PM (1,695 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    I just received my EZ Flash IV (GBA size) in the mail yesterday. I formatted my SD, put the latest loader firmware on there, threw on some games, and tested it out. It updated the firmware fine, but then when it loaded up, it gave me a message regarding the battery. I don't remember exactly what it said, but it was something about a dry battery. Do the carts have batteries in them? If so, do I need to change it, and what kind of battery would it require?

    Everything seemed to work fine, and I was able to test a couple of games successfully. However, this cart is a gift for someone, and if it's going to give out soon for some reason, I want to make sure I take care of that first.

    Thanks
     
  2. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. IceRentoraa29

    Member IceRentoraa29 Don't get in between a kid and his ice cream cone.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    The Land of Wuz AKA: Kuromi
    Country:
    United States
    You need to charge your EZ Flash for 6-8 hours by leaving it in a plugged in and turned on GBA/DS if you haven't done so already and see if that helps.
     
  4. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Alrighty. Thanks, guys.

    Let me ask you this, if I leave it in my DS turned on, can I keep it in sleep mode, or does it need to be in play mode so as to suck up juice from the outlet? Also, do I need to be using the card during the charging process, or can I be playing a DS game from my slot-1 card?
     
  5. IceRentoraa29

    Member IceRentoraa29 Don't get in between a kid and his ice cream cone.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    The Land of Wuz AKA: Kuromi
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't tried charging while in sleep mode but you don't have to be playing it, just leave the handheld turned on.
     
  6. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm...that won't burn out the pixels having it just sit there turned on all night? [​IMG]
     
  7. IceRentoraa29

    Member IceRentoraa29 Don't get in between a kid and his ice cream cone.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    The Land of Wuz AKA: Kuromi
    Country:
    United States
    It shouldn't.
     
  8. Maktub

    Member Maktub GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    832
    Location:
    Málaga
    Country:
    Spain
    Hmmm I don't think so, no.

    I've been owning EZIVs for a long while now and they're good carts, except for that issue. They run out of batteries relatively often. So what I always did is, after I saved a game and turned off the handheld, I'd immediately restart it for the memory to get saved in the SD, then I'd defly turn it off.
     
  9. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, that's confusing. I don't really get why it needs a battery in the first place. So, what you're saying is it doesn't copy the save to the SD until you've reloaded the cart?
     
  10. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    'cause it uses SRAM, which needs a battery to keep it charged.
     
  11. GeekyGuy
    OP

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, but at what point does it do a hard save to the SD card? After reload of the cart GUI?
     
  12. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Some people are lazy and will leave it for several months in one spot before turning it back on. With this behavior, the likelyhood of losing data in the save becomes more likely.
     

Share This Page