Dop-IOS vs. Dop-IOS Mod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by timishu, Nov 12, 2009.

Nov 12, 2009

Dop-IOS vs. Dop-IOS Mod by timishu at 12:33 AM (1,546 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. timishu
    OP

    Member timishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Scatland
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I am looking to go up to 4.0 from 3.2, and I was just going to use Dop-IOS to install a "Non-Stub" Version of IOS60, then install the 4.0 System Menu. owever, I noticed that there is both a Dop-IOS and a Dop-IOS Mod, each with some kind of advantage over the other. I was wondering which would be better for the job - installing IOS60 then SysMenu 4.0 - in order to avoid a brick. Anybody know for sure? Any kind of help is appreciated.
     
  2. bula

    Member bula GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    United States
    It is up to you, just make sure you do not install the stub IOS60, I am 100% sure that DOP-IOS will not let you do that but not sure about MOD one.
     
  3. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Mod wont let you install a stubb neither
     
  4. Jaz808

    Member Jaz808 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Melb Aus
    Country:
    Australia
    Just make sure you install this "IOS60-64-v6174.wad" before the System Menu
     
  5. timishu
    OP

    Member timishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Scatland
    Country:
    United States
    So either one will be fine....?
     
  6. bula

    Member bula GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    United States
    Yes..IOS and then SM in this order.
     
  7. timishu
    OP

    Member timishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Scatland
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thanks everyone. I got everything cleared up. I was just having some trouble downloading IOS60 from NUS Downloader. Would it be reasonable to download and install IOS60 with Dop-IOS, and then install SystemMenu as System Menu-NUS-v417.wad through Wad Manager? Or not a great idea?
     
  8. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    The only difference I noticed was the MOD had the latest IOS53, needed for NSMBW, and the normal v8 one had the one before that.
     
  9. timishu
    OP

    Member timishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Scatland
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so I downloaded IOS60 with Dop-IOS but I was not prompted to install a new System Menu. How do I do this?
     
  10. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You have to use the MOD version. You won't get prompted. You have to do it manually.

    MOD has options:
    IOS ->
    Channels ->
    System Menu ->


    Select System Menu. Change the Version and region using the D-pad.
     
  11. timishu
    OP

    Member timishu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    Scatland
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. Saved me there. Which IOS should I use to install other IOS's?
     
  12. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    60. You just signed it, right?

    You can use any trucha signed IOS or a cIOS, which is 249.
     
  13. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    it doesn't matter really as long as you use a trucha signed ios. just to be sure just use cios249.
     

Share This Page