does the new update allow you to open the tray in dashboard (by contro

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by dlxowhd, Aug 16, 2009.

  1. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    when there is a disc inside?
     
  2. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    Sadly, no. I've been waiting for this for the longest time... grr... V_V
     
  3. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    that sucks ass.
    i think i will just get a remote.
     
  4. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Why does it matter? If your opening the tray, your obviously taking a game out or putting one in so your going to have to be right there anyway.
     
  5. Forstride

    Member Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    What? Yes it does...You press X while on the game select thing.
     
  6. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've never really understood it either! I can kind of see the point in that the disc will be ejected and ready for you swap when you get there, but how much extra hassle is moving your arm, extending your finger and pushing a button! It's not like it adds minutes on to swapping a game, it's like 3 seconds maybe?
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,188
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    probably like 2 sec...

    stop being lazy bastards
     
  8. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    my eject button is faulty and it gets stuck.. nothing to do with being lazy.
     
  9. CheatingSoi

    Member CheatingSoi Graphic Designer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Even so, they will most likely not add that feature because it is hardly useful. It may be in your case but they are not programming for 360's that have malfunctions.
     
  10. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    EXACTLY lol. [​IMG]
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,737
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I must admit I did miss this as it makes life that little bit more annoying to test a xbox when flashing it.

    If you are willing to open your xbox you can mod the drive power cable: http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=668247 (you need to make a switch to ground pin 3).

    I should say though that it is usually the little "pole" on the eject button that bends (same with wireless controller initialisation button) so you might want to try bending it back (do it slow and you should avoid breaking the pole) or making something to poke the button with. You can do this by only removing the face plate.
     
  12. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a M$ media remote that has an eject button on it which works just great without using the one on the consoles and (not to mention the power off on the remote is immidate without touching the console) quite handily because my TV's remote decided to go 'tits up' recently, it controls my TV too (after going through some 300 code tests to find the right one.) If it wasn't so f'ng big though... a harmony would be sweet.
     
  13. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    I'm more annoyed by the lack of it due to some innate desire for aesthetic symmetry. If I can open and close it with the press of a button on the control while it's empty, I subconsciously assume that I should be able to do the same with a disc in as well, but such is not the case. V_V

    What if you had to use your keys to unlock your front door every time you wanted to go outside?

    EDIT:

    This guy is 100% correct. Along the bottom, it says "[X] Eject", can't believe I missed it...

    Thanks TDWP, I would've never seen that... [​IMG]
     
  14. dlxowhd
    OP

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    wait i'm confused.
    so we can or cannot?
    and what do you mean by 'game select thing'.
     
  15. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    very subtle

    but nicely put [​IMG]
     

Share This Page