Hacking DNS Server Blocks Nintendo Addresses

Ninja_Carver

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
364
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
652
Country
United States
PROJECT TERMINATED DUE TO ABUSE.


Hi, over the past few weeks I've seen a growing interest in a DNS server that end-users can configure their consoles to use, so that they will no longer be able to communicate with NUS.

I took the addresses listed over on the first post of the "Wii U Hacking Discussion" thread, did a reverse lookup on them to find out what their DNS names were, and found that they belonged to Akamai Technologies. There was also another host listed as 'account.nintendo.net' which I have also blocked. Feel free to test and point out any deficiencies.

DNS Server IP: 54.68.74.226

Code:
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup account.nintendo.net 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find account.nintendo.net: NXDOMAIN
 
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup a96-17-161-145.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com. 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find a96-17-161-145.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com.: NXDOMAIN
 
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup a184-50-229-158.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com. 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find a184-50-229-158.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com.: NXDOMAIN
 
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup a184-50-227-137.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com. 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find a184-50-227-137.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com.: NXDOMAIN

Edit: I also see the following URL's being passed through my DNS server, in case anyone is curious:

Code:
(a184-50-227-137.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com):
(a184-50-229-158.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com):
(a96-17-161-145.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com):
(account.nintendo.net):
(conntest.nintendowifi.net):
(d3rqsl5z8ym7ju.cloudfront.net):
(ecs.wup.shop.nintendo.net):
(edge.quantserve.com):
(fbstatic-a.akamaihd.net):
(g.engagelab.com):
(g.symcd.com):
(nncs1.app.nintendowifi.net):
(nncs2.app.nintendowifi.net):
(nppl.app.nintendo.net):
(nus.wup.shop.nintendo.net):
(ocsp.digicert.com):
(pixel.quantserve.com):
(pushmore.wup.shop.nintendo.net):
(shoptemp.net):
(ssl.gstatic.com):
(tagaya.wup.shop.nintendo.net):
(wiki.gbatemp.net):
(www.gravatar.com):
(www.gstatic.com):
(www.nds-card.com):
(xenforo.com):
 

TeamScriptKiddies

Licensed Nintendo (indie) Game Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Planet Earth :P
XP
1,703
Country
United States
Hi, over the past few weeks I've seen a growing interest in a DNS server that end-users can configure their consoles to use, so that they will no longer be able to communicate with NUS.

I took the addresses listed over on the first post of the "Wii U Hacking Discussion" thread, did a reverse lookup on them to find out what their DNS names were, and found that they belonged to Akamai Technologies. There was also another host listed as 'account.nintendo.net' which I have also blocked. Feel free to test and point out any deficiencies.

DNS Server IP: 54.68.74.226

Code:
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup account.nintendo.net 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find account.nintendo.net: NXDOMAIN
 
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup a96-17-161-145.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com. 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find a96-17-161-145.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com.: NXDOMAIN
 
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup a184-50-229-158.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com. 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find a184-50-229-158.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com.: NXDOMAIN
 
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup a184-50-227-137.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com. 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find a184-50-227-137.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com.: NXDOMAIN
Ninja Carver for president!
 

Vivec

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 24, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
112
Country
This goes in both primary and secondary manual DNS settings?
Also, does this block every connection to anything Nintendo or can you still visit the eShop and get game updates?
 

Ninja_Carver

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
364
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
652
Country
United States
This goes in both primary and secondary manual DNS settings?
Also, does this block every connection to anything Nintendo or can you still visit the eShop and get game updates?

The intention is to block everything nintendo, while still allowing you to keep the core internet functions of your console, such as the web browser.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

Vivec

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 24, 2015
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
112
Country
Thanks, I'm kinda new when it comes to tampering with connections. So I input that as both, primary and secondary DNS?
 

Ninja_Carver

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
364
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
652
Country
United States
Put it in the primary, you shouldn't have to put a 2nd, but if it makes you, try entering the same IP twice. If it won't let you put the same on twice, use a bogus IP like 172.16.126.111
 

Onion_Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2014
Messages
878
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
997
Country
Hi, over the past few weeks I've seen a growing interest in a DNS server that end-users can configure their consoles to use, so that they will no longer be able to communicate with NUS.

I took the addresses listed over on the first post of the "Wii U Hacking Discussion" thread, did a reverse lookup on them to find out what their DNS names were, and found that they belonged to Akamai Technologies. There was also another host listed as 'account.nintendo.net' which I have also blocked. Feel free to test and point out any deficiencies.

DNS Server IP: 54.68.74.226

Code:
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup account.nintendo.net 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find account.nintendo.net: NXDOMAIN
 
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup a96-17-161-145.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com. 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find a96-17-161-145.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com.: NXDOMAIN
 
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup a184-50-229-158.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com. 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find a184-50-229-158.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com.: NXDOMAIN
 
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup a184-50-227-137.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com. 54.68.74.226
Server:        54.68.74.226
Address:    54.68.74.226#53
 
** server can't find a184-50-227-137.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com.: NXDOMAIN

Edit: I also see the following URL's being passed through my DNS server, in case anyone is curious:

Code:
(a184-50-227-137.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com):
(a184-50-229-158.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com):
(a96-17-161-145.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com):
(account.nintendo.net):
(conntest.nintendowifi.net):
(d3rqsl5z8ym7ju.cloudfront.net):
(ecs.wup.shop.nintendo.net):
(edge.quantserve.com):
(fbstatic-a.akamaihd.net):
(g.engagelab.com):
(g.symcd.com):
(nncs1.app.nintendowifi.net):
(nncs2.app.nintendowifi.net):
(nppl.app.nintendo.net):
(nus.wup.shop.nintendo.net):
(ocsp.digicert.com):
(pixel.quantserve.com):
(pushmore.wup.shop.nintendo.net):
(shoptemp.net):
(ssl.gstatic.com):
(tagaya.wup.shop.nintendo.net):
(wiki.gbatemp.net):
(www.gravatar.com):
(www.gstatic.com):
(www.nds-card.com):
(xenforo.com):


Awesome work man! You just successfully killed half the threads in this forum. That's gotta be some sorta record.
 

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
31,284
Trophies
2
Age
38
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
18,969
Country
United States
So I enter the internet setting and then go to the DNS settings then enter the IP address...? Sorry, I really suck at networking, I don't know what the hell I'm doing. Anyone got any screenshots?
 

jammybudga777

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
2,284
Trophies
1
Age
37
XP
2,193
Country
So was gonna give this a go but dont wanna mess it up. Do i go to internet settings/manual config. Press DNS/do not obtain.Put in the ip address and just manually put in my wireless network? Then connect
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hke2YUirpf4 +1