Disable Disk Check on Sakura with Computer

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by DeltaBurnt, Oct 18, 2009.

Oct 18, 2009
  1. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I see alot of people out there have to ask a fellow gbatemper for a sakura with disk check disabled because disk check locks them out.

    I started looking into a way to do this when Jakob needed me to send him my sakura folder. So I just sent my m3sakura folder when disk check was disabled and he said it worked. So I then started looking for differences in the files in the m3sakura folder. So I finally find the differences and found that the GUI settings for m3 sakura are probably in m3sakura.dat. I was right because I copied over a m3sakura.dat from a sakura that had disk check disabled and it worked!

    Quick tutorial:

    1. Download this m3sakura.dat: http://www.mediafire.com/?lvnjdhjened
    2. Put it in SYSTEM/m3sakura/ and overwrite the old one
    3. Your Sakura should start without diskcheck on (it will probably also overwrite any other settings you had set in the GUI settings).

    Note: This was only tested with Sakura 1.42 2nd Edition (the latest). It should work on all of the latest version, but you may get errors if you try this on a version in the future that adds more options to the GUI Settings menu. If it doesn't work just take a m3sakura.dat file that has diskcheck disabled and save it on your computer just in case sakura decides to lock you out.

    I tried hex editing the hexadecimal from one m3sakura.dat to another and it looks just like one with disk check disabled but for some reason it doesn't change anything. So it must be somewhat like editing images and trying to put it back on a DSi.

    Anyways that's it!
     


  2. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    That's awesome. I've always thought about uploading M3 Sakura with Disk Check disabled, but I prefer to keep the files the way they are. But now people can do it themselves [​IMG] I'll link this on the FAQ.
     
  3. Ultralex

    Member Ultralex GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Germany
    No need for this!
    On Windows just run ScanDisk over your SD Card and Checkdisk won't find any errors.
    Just make a right click on your SD Card>Properties>Extras and then Scan Disk.
     
  4. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Unless it doesn't work or that Sakura's disk check just freezes instead of giving an error.

    Basically I could also say you could just reformat your card but people don't want to do that. Plus this works for Mac users too.
     
  5. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm this could prove to be useful... I would still rather have it check anyways on the first run at the very least so I know if my microSD card is corrupt or not.
     
  6. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    What about deleting the application from the microSD, would that work...?? [​IMG]
     
  7. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    No that does not work.
     
  8. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well I only have this issue with the 8gb card wich I think it is class -2 (it really have the worst transfer speed), and with the 4gb wich it is really class 4 it runs the app as normal...!!
     
  9. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    wow good guide delta this is gonna help alot of people
     
  10. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Helped me. Thanks Deltaburnt.

    EDIT: DAM POSTED...
     
  11. japzone

    Newcomer japzone Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    I ran into the same problem. It wasn't that the formatting was bad(I had just formatted it) it complained about my Card being to Big(Why this would be a problem, Who knows) Thanks for uploading [​IMG] This will help alot.
     
  12. comegalletas

    Newcomer comegalletas Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hello to all;

    I just have that same issue with the Disk Checking utility that makes my Sakura freeze.

    I have read carefully and haven´t found a m3sakura.dat file for M3Sakura Ver 147x 3rd that have the feature off. Also have tried to reinstall after erasing the content first with no luck.

    By any chance someone may have an m3sakura.dat file for M3Sakura Ver 147x 3rd with Disk Check off?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  13. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    You can update other than m3sakura folder. I have not overwritten the folder since I set up Japanese lang(replace *.936 with *.932, put skin, etc) for 1.44.

    BTW isn't anyone interested in nds.m3loader.nds?
     
  14. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    I would be interested in it, but my final DS part and supposed M3iZero have not arrived yet TT-TT, but once they do...it will probably be a different story =D.
     
  15. comegalletas

    Newcomer comegalletas Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Mexico

    Please Xenon++ don´t flame me, and accept my apologies in advance for my ignorance, but what is nds.m3loader.nds?
     
  16. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    It writes minibuff.swp then jumps to /system/minigame.*(loader). Much faster than inilink.
     
  17. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I could upload that m3sakura.dat with disk check off. I'll do it later today.

    But before I do I suggest you try backing up your microsd's contents and formatting it with the low level formatter.
     
  18. comegalletas

    Newcomer comegalletas Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hello to all;

    Thanks to all for the help; I figured out what the issue was and therefore I want to share the cause and solution in case it happens to someone else.

    After checking and formatting the SD card no errors were detected, even thou the freeze still always happened, even if I manually replaced the m3sakura.dat file. so I tried with another pc, formatted the SD card, copied over all files and voilá the freeze on the Sakura was gone.

    What happened ? well on my main PC I have a program called Panda USB Vaccine and it does create an autorun.inf file that is hidden, system and in fact corrupted in purpose in order to stop infections from worms. In a nutshell I need to disable the auto vaccine for that program, otherwise whenever I insert the SD card on the PC the same issue will arise.

    So a word of advice to all those that have freezes with Disk Check utility on the Sakura boot ---- search for corrupted files ----
     
  19. thtl1999

    Newcomer thtl1999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Korea, South
    That reason made me to format my sdcard 4 times and you saved me.
     
  20. redviper

    Newcomer redviper Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Germany
    This does not work on M3 Sakura 1.49 M30 anymore. Could someone please post another file from that version?
     

Share This Page