?
  1. Yes - N3DS

    70 vote(s)
    35.2%
  2. Yes - O3DS

    54 vote(s)
    27.1%
  3. No - N3DS

    5 vote(s)
    2.5%
  4. No - O3DS

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. I'll do it when it's safer/easier

    70 vote(s)
    35.2%
  6. 199 voter(s)
  1. JacksonS

    JacksonS GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    Well I would assume so. I copy the header, and the file size of sysNAND.bin does not change. That means it's correct, right?
     
  2. tvall

    tvall GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    United States
    I did the downgrade on my 2ds. while on 2.1 home menu, the top screen was stretched weirdly. but the browser worked, and i got otp dumped, and then flashed my sysnand back. now im coldbooting AuReinand :)
     
  3. Supster131

    Supster131 (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ *:・゚✧
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,315
    Country:
    United States
    With HxD? Make sure you use Paste Write and not Paste Insert.
     
  4. Sgt. Lulz

    Sgt. Lulz Beef up
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've done it on two consoles already, neither of which hardmodded.
    There's not much that can be done with it yet and screen initialization is still not there, but it certainly does work.
    That said I feel obligated to say that average users really should stick with Menuhax for the time being. Right now there's no way to do anything except run CFW and the payloads for it are kind of disorganized and hard to find.
     
    Audioboxer and Supster131 like this.
  5. Ninoh-FOX

    Ninoh-FOX Otaku Gamer!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Country:
    Spain
    if you not erase the folder Nintendo 3DS when you boot in 2.1, the console not boot, erase the folder and the console did boot.
     
    Xenon Hacks likes this.
  6. Svaethier

    Svaethier GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,303
    Country:
    United States
    Did you use the emunand method by downgrading emunand to 2.1 and injecting it into sysnand?
     
  7. Audioboxer

    OP Audioboxer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    524
    Country:
    Good advice. I learned the hard way but a day later I've finally got emunand being booted into via Rei with arm9loader.

    Definitely something to watch from the sidelines for now. There's no rush to grab your OTP.bin, can be achieved at any point and the guides are sure to get easier to follow.

    But hey if we weren't crazy geeks living on the cutting edge we wouldn't be signed up on GBATemp. So praise the devs and have a go if it'll make you feel good.
     
    Last edited by Audioboxer, Feb 18, 2016
  8. DingusPingus

    DingusPingus GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    If anyone with an o3ds is think that they want to do this to get true autobooting cfw, for right now there isn't any cfw that supports a9lh yet, however if you want to dump the otp file for later use, wait until the tutorial to do so is updated
     
  9. Sheimi

    Sheimi A cute Vixen!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,110
    Country:
    United States
    holy shit, I have to try this on my o3ds.
     
    daxtsu likes this.
  10. tvall

    tvall GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    United States
    nope. just downgraded my sysnand directly. I hardmodded the 2ds, so bricks aren't much of a concern.

    cakes works and is available publicly. AuReinand also works, but idk if its been posted here.
     
  11. DingusPingus

    DingusPingus GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Cakes works with the o3ds but it doesn't support a9lh, and without support it wont boot
     
  12. subcon959

    subcon959 teh retro
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,330
    Country:
  13. tvall

    tvall GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    United States
    it works with a9lh. see here https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-cakesfw.391200/page-115#post-6087891
    you have to use cakes without a9lh once to configure it. then you just need the a9lh payoad. used it all morning before aureinand was fixed
     
  14. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Playing around on my modded N3DS. I manged to get OTP fine, but using any game with 4.0-6.1 update just bricks the N3DS. It fails to update, then just gets the Error has occurred when rebooting.
     
  15. Svaethier

    Svaethier GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,303
    Country:
    United States
    I was told to do the emunand guide to get the otp, my 2ds isn't hardmodded but 80% of the people who have done this never bricked once so I feel that i'm OK with doing this later.
     
  16. DingusPingus

    DingusPingus GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Oh wow I didn't think that Mid Kid would be able to get cakes working yet with the a9lh, but that is really cool new info

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    N3ds was never on any of those firmwares and will always brick, if you can find it, there was a decrypt9 that was ported to 2.1
     
  17. Supster131

    Supster131 (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ *:・゚✧
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,315
    Country:
    United States
  18. DingusPingus

    DingusPingus GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    No, so far no one has figured a way to properly boot into sysnand from a9lh
     
  19. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Yea should probably change that tutorial - says:

    1. Insert your game that contains an update to a version between 4.0 and (possibly 6.1? further testing needed to confirm exact version limit)
    2. Disable all network connections on the 3DS and delete any predownloaded updates.
    3. Launch the game.
     
  20. Supster131

    Supster131 (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ *:・゚✧
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,315
    Country:
    United States
    Well.. you can access sysNAND with a9hl, you just need to use @Shadowtrance's payload.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - downgrade,