Dialup.

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Rydian, Sep 30, 2010.

Sep 30, 2010

Dialup. by Rydian at 4:23 AM (953 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    When I was on dialup for a time, a friend online burned some CDs and mailed them to me.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Yes, those are actual scans of the discs.

    Anyways I was on Netzero, and it's got this "turbo" thing that recompresses images for you. JPEGs go to 20% quality or so, GIFs get reduced to 16 colors, but 24-bit PNGs (alpha layer) didn't change... it was still a GREAT help. Also blocking flash and java. If you're on dialup and your ISP doesn't offer that, you can use the Opera browser's Turbo Boost feature, I think it should handle 24-bit PNGs fine.

    So. Dialup stories/woe/humor?
     
  2. DigitalDeviant

    Member DigitalDeviant GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    Solar Federation
    Country:
    United States
    when I was on dialup back when visiting DR It was in short, painful. I could only just about use wikipedia, and maybe yahoo email. Forget about youtube.

    I would wait like 30 minutes to find my grades for the semester because the college site was too damn graphical. lol!
     
  3. updowners

    Member updowners lurklurklurk

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,323
    Country:
    Australia
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    Ah I remember the time I used be on dial-up. It wasn't too fun waiting 10-30 minutes just for a flash game to load.
     
  4. admotonic

    Member admotonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Thats nothing. When I was on Dial-up it could take about 10 minutes to load GOOGLE. It was ridiculous!
     
  5. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    Dial-up + MMORPG addiction (Evercrack) = omgwtfbbqRAAAAAAAAGE.
     
  6. Maplemage

    Member Maplemage ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Why would you care?
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Uugh dialup is so j-j-j-j-j-j-j-jumpy.
     
  7. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    When me was a kid we had dial-up...
    It was actually pretty decent for dial-up,it probably went 10-15kb since gamefaq's and yahoo loaded up pretty quickly,but yeah,ever since we moved homes,DSL took over,but still,for DSL,it's dang slow.
     
  8. craplame

    Member craplame GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    I'm currently on dial up. It's pretty fast for some reason. But, it's probably because I'm on Opera atm.
     
  9. macgeek417

    Member macgeek417 妁眼のシャナ

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    United States
    I used to - until recently - use dial-up. It didnt even connect at full speed. My max download speed was 4KB/s. 1MB took 5mins to download...
     
  10. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    56kb = 7KB max file download speed.
     
  11. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many years ago back in the 14.4K/ 28.8K era, we had a storm. Went into college the following morning, and every single persons Modem was fried. Sucked.
     

Share This Page