Devil's tuning fork error

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Demonbart, Feb 13, 2010.

Feb 13, 2010

Devil's tuning fork error by Demonbart at 7:50 PM (2,070 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Demonbart
    OP

    Member Demonbart GBATemp's guitar hero

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    Lazytown, yarr
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I downloaded this freeware pc game called Devil's Tuning Fork, and installed it in the same way as I'd do with other programs. But everytime I try to start the actual game, I get an error screen saying "game.exe stopped working". There are no forums on the game's site so I figured I'd ask it here. By the way I'm on windows 7 x64, if that matters, could it be that the thing isn't compatible with x64? Compatibility mode foe WinXP SP2 didn't work either.
     
  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried 'contact us' on the site ??

    They do say in their video
    so perhaps you've found they don't know about & perhaps they can fix it or offer a solution ??
     
  3. Demonbart
    OP

    Member Demonbart GBATemp's guitar hero

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    Lazytown, yarr
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ok, I sent a bug report to the adress provided on the site (which was, by the way, bugreport@devilstuningfork.com instead of what you said, cannonfoddr).
    Let's hope they know what to do. I'll update with the solution if I find it.
     
  4. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    Whats this game about? racing?
     
  5. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm that's weird - I was only quoting from what was said in the video - but I guess on the site they must've changed it
     
  6. Demonbart
    OP

    Member Demonbart GBATemp's guitar hero

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    Lazytown, yarr
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well the feedback adress does exist, but it's for giving actual feedback on the game experience. The site said that bug report had to be sent to bugreport@devilstuningfork.com
     
  7. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I've actually managed to play the game - My opinions:-

    Bit short (only 3 levels - but it IS 'in development') & a bit repetative (having to 'sound-off' just to get your bearings) but otherwise an interesting attempt on a 'first person shooter (with adventure elements) ('Portal' springs to mind)

    Would like some variety of gameplay though
    > perhaps the ability to move certain objects - like the mirrors
    > perhaps the ability to 'shatter certain objects with sound'
    > maybe some items to 'change' the sound waves to activate switches may be a good idea (Sound-off through water perhaps ??)

    Still as said it is in development - so who knows these thing may make an appearance
     
  8. Demonbart
    OP

    Member Demonbart GBATemp's guitar hero

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    Lazytown, yarr
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well I guess you're right about it being a bit short, but as you said it's in development so it'll probably have levels and features added as development goes on.
    Anyways, I'm going to reinstall it now, see if that works.

    EDIT: Reinstall didn't work. I hope I'll get a reply to my email soon, I really wanna play this.
    By the way, Cannonfoddr, what OS are you on and are you on 32bits or 64bits?
     
  9. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Win XP Pro 16-bit I'm afraid - not going to Win7 until I get new PC
     
  10. NoSmokingBandit

    Member NoSmokingBandit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try to get this working on my 7 x64 install later. It looks awesome.
     
  11. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    16-bit? There hasn't been a 16-bit Windows since Windows 3.1!
     
  12. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly what I was thinking! Perhaps he meant something else.
     
  13. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was - meant to say 32-bit, but I was also doing a post @ same time elsewhere (trying to multi-task) discussing about 16-bit GRAPHICS on acecards skins. I must've had '16-bit' on the mind
     
  14. Demonbart
    OP

    Member Demonbart GBATemp's guitar hero

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,623
    Location:
    Lazytown, yarr
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If you succeed, can you please teel me how you did it if you did it any other way than the normal way?
     

Share This Page