Hacking desperate help... I think i bricked my wii

ryanhaggan

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
United States
I was trying to get the new super mario bros to play through usb loader...

I installed cios53 and SM 4.0-4.1 - Trucha.wad... didn't work

so my dumb ass uninstalled SM 4.0-4.1 - Trucha.wad


PLEASE tell me that I could do something about this???




My wii doesn't boot up at all... I had preloader on it, and I can't even get to that.

PLEASE, HELP HELP HELP
 

ryanhaggan

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
United States
no bootmii 2, i think i have it installed as something else.

a quick google led to a wii unbrick disk... do you that that can help??

please, i want to cry.
 

ryanhaggan

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
United States
if i call nintendo, what would i have to tell them and what would they do. I have a bunch of stuff on there that shouldn't be on there if you know what i mean.

any second opinions???????
 

pokefloote

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
2,668
Trophies
1
XP
1,589
Country
United States
They are well aware that people hack their wiis and get bricked all the time. they're used to it.
they wont do anything.
 

longtom1

Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
2,641
Trophies
0
Location
Honey Oils inc.
Website
Visit site
XP
186
Country
tell them you "performed the 4.2 update over wifi and when it restarted all you got was a black screen" but in a p**sed of tone and they might send you a refurb
 

ryanhaggan

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
United States
And I've been an avid nintendo fan since snes...didn't get ps1 or ps2... lived with a n64 (not so bad) and gamecube (bad times).

So what exactly did I do wrong here? what was critical in what i erased? It wasn't on there before, figured that I wouldn't need it on there again, so i uninstalled it.

What would've happened if I uninstalled cIOS53 instead?

What is this universal unbrick disk???
 

vegemikee

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
356
Trophies
0
XP
314
Country
you uninstalled the system menu. without boot2 you cant do anything. preloader wont boot because it relies on the system menu. NEVER uninstall ios files and the system menu. you just need to install over it if you need to install a different one.
 

rontonimo

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
68
Trophies
0
XP
24
Country
United States
The system doesn't boot up from the disk, sound like a scam. Send the wii to Nintendo your not the first person to send them one.
 

nabster92

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
1,630
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
50
Country
United States
Generally you don't uninstall ANYTHING from your Wii. ESPECIALLY your system menu or system menu IOS. Deleting that IOS53 wouldn't really cause a brick because it's not a system menu IOS but wouldn't be a good idea anyways.

If you want to get rid of anything you install, install a normal official thing over it. Have a trucha bugged IOS36? Install the latest normal IOS36 from NUSD. System menu's themselves aren't trucha bugged so whatever you installed was either a trucha bugged IOS60 or just a normal system menu wad or something. Either way you just uninstalled the very thing that your system needs to boot up to a working state.

And completely stopping supporting anything Nintendo because YOU fucked up majorly because you didn't read up on any info about what unofficial stuff that has nothing to do with Nintendo that you're installing on your system, when they will likely replace it without saying anything if you just call them and tell them it stopped working when you updated to 4.2 regardless even though it's entirely your fault?

Nice move.
 

nutta_nic

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
556
Trophies
0
XP
164
Country
you can buy a mod chip called infectus and you can extract your nand with it, then edit it on your pc to put a new system menu and setting.txt back on it then reflash your nand (there's guides around)
an alternate option is to vtake it to a 3rd party console repair shop, or theres a dude on here that may be able to fix it for you, you send him your brick and he'll fix it for $25 plus you pay the nshipping both ways,
not sure of his name though,
sorry,
i think its demon somthing or devil something
 

ryanhaggan

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
United States
oh boy... what to do, what to do??? Thanks for all of the options guys.

To deadly foez, i believe that i was able to install bootmii as boot 2, but i just didn't have an sd card handy...

and to the guy who told me i'm not supporting nintendo cuz i messed up, well, it's not about me showing support. I don't support commercial companies. I just buy what I like. I had the wii 1 year after launch and i just didn't really play it much. My 360 though, oh mama. I had 4400 wii point on there too :'(
 

nabster92

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
1,630
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
50
Country
United States
If you installed bootmii to boot2 at all you can probably still fix your Wii. Even if you didn't have room to make a NAND backup. What do you mean by didn't have an SD card handy? What else would you have used to install anything in the first place?

If bootmii is installed, just put the bootmii folder with it's files on the root of your card and it should boot into that instead. If you can load up the HBC from there load wad manager again and install a fresh system menu/system menu IOS (IOS60 NOT v6400 for 4.0/4.1, IOS70 for 4.2). If the HBC doesn't load up, you can still try using cboot2 to load that wad manager and reinstall them.
 

ryanhaggan

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
United States
nabster92 said:
If you installed bootmii to boot2 at all you can probably still fix your Wii. Even if you didn't have room to make a NAND backup. What do you mean by didn't have an SD card handy? What else would you have used to install anything in the first place?

If bootmii is installed, just put the bootmii folder with it's files on the root of your card and it should boot into that instead. If you can load up the HBC from there load wad manager again and install a fresh system menu/system menu IOS (IOS60 NOT v6400 for 4.0/4.1, IOS70 for 4.2). If the HBC doesn't load up, you can still try using cboot2 to load that wad manager and reinstall them.


hmmmm interesting.

Let me give you a little better info.

Well, about the SD card, i just automatically assumed that you need to have a dedicated SD card to back up your NAND. I figured or read or something that bootmii with format your sd card to a particular wii format, which i though meant that all the other things i had on my 4gb sd card would get erased.

As for bootmii installed on my wii, well, i updated the homebrew channel last week or so, and i selected to install bootmii as boot2, but when the GUI for boot came up, I needed to have an SD card ready for it to put whatever it needed to put on there. So I'm not sure if bootmii as boot 2 is installed. Does it sound like it to you?

Also, a long time before last week's HBC update, i updated HBC and i believe I installed HBC as an IOS.

Any help apreciated.
 

rontonimo

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
68
Trophies
0
XP
24
Country
United States
Given the fact that your system is old would give me hope. what have you tried so far to unbrick. Give a little list 123 ect so maybe someone that has unbricked a couple might be able to help you.
 

ryanhaggan

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
United States
rontonimo said:
Given the fact that your system is old would give me hope. what have you tried so far to unbrick. Give a little list 123 ect so maybe someone that has unbricked a couple might be able to help you.

[*]preloader doesn't work[*]tried to go into recovery by pressing down all four directions on an official GC controller (opened it) when plugged into the 4th port before turning the wii on[*]i tried to download the bootmii files from the internet just to see if i have bootmii as boot 2 installed, didn't work, but maybe i have the wrong version? I have system V4.0 USA wii
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: On your friendly side loaded apk