Decide my future career.

Mangofett

GBAtemp Testing Area
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
What is a good paying, math-reliant profession should I pursue?

How much do programmers get paid, anyway?

VVoltz

The Pirate Lord
Trophies
XP
Country
It depends on the state you are located.
I've heard the best area around the east coast is the Washington, DC metro. area.

In a city called Bethesda salary is pretty good. Welcome to the field, lil' Linky, I'm a programmer too.

Ahh... soon you'll stop being Linkyboy to turn into Linkyguy and then Linkyadult and after a while Linkysenior and Linkyold. Right now I'm not working on any company though.

Edit:
I hear there's a lot of money in Snake Oil.

WTF mthrnite what have you done with your avatar and sig?!?!, my eyes!!!!!!, my eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyes!!

superrob

H4X H4X H4X!
Trophies
Website
zabbo.dk
XP
Country
Well im going for programmer and the good thing are that there are not so many choosing that cereer in Denmark rigth now.
Means good payment
smile.gif

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Some might say it is unwise to get your fellow 'tempers to choose this sort of thing. I say it is probably better than any careers "advice" centres I have ever been too.

Every fool and his donkey has some computer qualifications these days so you will need to have some serious ones to compete. Still if you do it right (i.e. do not get an MCSE and call it a day) then you can get places. There are three main types of computing qualification:
electrical -
Probably fairly self explanatory: tends to focus more on hardware and the software around it: you will not write the next MS office but a graphics card/new instruction set is possible.

straight computing
This is the archetypal qualification. Lots of everything and fairly well rounded unless you choose to bias it.

maths: