CycloDS Evolution Firmware 1.3BETA

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Sinkhead, Dec 27, 2007.

Dec 27, 2007
  1. Sinkhead
    OP

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    CycloDS Evolution Firmware 1.3BETA
    Real-time Save capability added!
    [​IMG]
    TeamCyclops have stuck to their word and added real-time save (RTS) to their already feature-packed cart.

    [title:Some notes from TeamCyclops]Release Notes for CycloDS Evolution Firmware v1.3 BETA

    Introduction

    This release marks the introduction of the RealTime Save feature into CycloDS Evolution. In order to implement this feature a lot of internal changes were made to our software, so we have decided to release this initially as a public BETA and as such, we advise that the software may (and probably will) contain bugs. Please backup your MicroSD card before using and if you don't want any risk at all, please wait for the stable release. We have tested this quite thoroughly ourselves but as a small team our capacity for testing is rather limited, so we would appreciate any help in identifying any remaining problems. If you come across a bug, please report this in the bugs section of our forum and we will do our best to fix it quickly.

    How to use RealTime Save

    RealTime Save is disabled by default, and must first be enabled through the settings menu by setting "RTS BETA" to "Enabled". Before you can use RealTime Save with each individual game, a .RTS file must be created. These files are not created automatically due to their large size of 4.7MB. To create a RTS file for a game, hold down SELECT whilst you launch that game and the file will be created. You must hold SELECT before the loading screen appears and only release after you see "Loading (RTS Initialise)". You only need to do this once per game; subsequent launches of the same game will detect the presence of the RTS file so you don't need to hold down SELECT. Please note that this is a temporary solution - we are planning a GUI re-design soon that will include a per-game context menu system where such options may be toggled. If RealTime Save is enabled in the settings menu and a RTS file has previously been created, the menu items relating to RealTime Save in the ingame menu will be available. Usage is quite self-explanatory - select "RealTime Save" to save the current state of the game and then "RealTime Load" to load that state. We're quite please with the speed of these operations, as our tests with a Toshiba 4GB MicroSD show saving taking about 6 seconds and loading taking about 2.5 seconds.

    Known Problems

    There are currently some known problems with RealTime save which are related to the fact that currently its not possible to save and load 100% of the NDS hardware (more on this below). Some of the known issues are:
    • After loading, the sound will become crackly with some games. To avoid this, we suggest pausing the game before you save as this will help in many cases.
    • If you save during gameplay and then attempt to load from the game's main menu, this can lead to graphical problems with some games. To avoid this, we suggest loading during gameplay and not from the main menu.
    RealTime Save Technical Details

    Currently it is not possible for our software to obtain a complete capture of 100% of the NDS hardware. This means that when a state is loaded, small parts of the hardware will be "out of sync" - this is what can lead so graphical or sound problems. For example, its currently not possible to capture the full state of the 3d graphics engine which means that you need to wait for the game code to properly configure the 3d graphics hardware itself before loading a state which relies on the operation of this hardware. Often games have not configured the 3d graphics hardware at the main menu and wait until entering gameplay to do this - meaning if you load a gameplay state from the main menu, the 3d graphics hardware
    will not have been setup correctly resulting in graphical problems. The reason for these problems is that a great deal of the hardware registers on the NDS are write only - you can not read the values which the game has written to them, meaning you can not include dumps of these registers in the saved state. We are currently working on some special "register trap" code which will allow us to obtain a complete capture of all the hardware and this make it possible to save and load from anywhere. This would also make it possible to load a saved state directly from the CycloDS Evolution main menu so you would not need to wait until the game starts and then load from the ingame menu!

    ---
    Well, that's all for now - hope you all enjoy!
    Regards,
    Team Cyclops

    [​IMG] News post on TeamCyclops' Forums
    [​IMG] TeamCyclops' Official Website
    [​IMG] Download locally from GBAtemp Download Centre
    [​IMG] Download from TeamCyclops' Website
    Thanks a lot to GH0ST for the tip-off!
     


  2. euphemism

    Member euphemism GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    This is great! Now I can beat Contra 4....[​IMG] heh, I'm cheap like that. Thanks Teamcyclops!

    ....first post....lol.
     
  3. Sinkhead
    OP

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just tested it and it works as they say it does! Congratulations and thanks to TeamCyclops!
     
  4. jgu1994

    Member jgu1994 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    I seriously hope R4 team will also work to have this feature!
     
  5. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Jaejae

    Member Jaejae Superfly Don't Used

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Sinkhead Edit: Removed reply to trashed post

    Good job TC, although a little late.
     
  7. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    About time. I bet they just started working on this after SCTeam releaed their build.
     
  8. laurenz

    Member laurenz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    Netherlands
    4.7MB for a real-time savestate is not worth it in my opinion [​IMG]
     
  9. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    So now R4 is the only one without real-time save.
     
  10. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    Umm no.
     
  11. ECJanga

    Member ECJanga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's because it records everything in the RAM. And the DS has 4MB RAM. The other 700KB is for something else.
     
  12. HipN

    Member HipN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    548
    Country:
    Canada
    Real-time saves? HOLY CRAP!!! That is incredible. I honestly never thought this would work on the DS...ever.
     
  13. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Supercard Team released RTS a little while ago for their flashcart, the SCDS1.
     
  14. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    u have to patch on pc for supercards but cyclos is ds only [​IMG]
     
  15. Glacius0

    Member Glacius0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Even though they're not the first (supercard was first) this to me has proven that these guys are quite dedicated. Congrats to all cycloDS owners ^^ (this excludes me btw [​IMG])
     
  16. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Finaly!
    I got the Evolution becurse of this [​IMG]
     
  17. recover

    Member recover GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Sweden
    I don't think the R4 team will ever implement this (they seem to be very lazy lately).
    I do however hope that this will be implemented in the AceKard RPG, it would be awesome! [​IMG]
     
  18. Sinkhead
    OP

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then don't use it!

    And unfortunately they have to be this big unless compression is used, and that would make it very slow...
     
  19. Raisingod

    Member Raisingod GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    Israel

    Nope you don't need to patch roms for the SCDS1 to work with them (or RTS in them) .
     
  20. gh0ul

    Member gh0ul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    bleh
    Country:
    United States
    i'm a R4 owner and i am very, very jealous. im crossing my fingers for r4 to do a real update
     

Share This Page