CycloDs boots directly to recovery mode and fails self test?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by AP Hacker, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. AP Hacker
    OP

    Newcomer AP Hacker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Canada
    Great, just as the forums go down due to bandwith issues (again), I run into a problem.
    When I boot the CycloDS, it goes directly to Recovery Mode, with the error "Self Tests Failed". There is a prompt to run the firmware from the MicroSD. When this happened, I tried botting it from the MicroSD however the firmware is fairly old (vB.4), so it was long deleted by the CycloDS when first updated. I then put the firmware back on the cart, and tried to load it from the SD card. Then the screen changes to "Loading update.evo.. checking integrity". I thought I was out of the woods, and it was all solved. Apparently not. About 2 seconds later, the screen changes to the normal CycloDS loading screen (Green logo on top screen with green bar on the bottom screen). Suddenly I get "ERROR: Self Tests failed!" and then it tells me to press A to power of the DS.

    I'm an experienced CycloDS user, and I've never encountered this problem. Any suggestions/solutions?
    Thanks,
    APH/Poke.
     
  2. Pluupy

    Member Pluupy Woof!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    597
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried running it clean? Use the latest stable firmware, format the SD, and run the SD without loading any homebrew/games/etc.
     
  3. AP Hacker
    OP

    Newcomer AP Hacker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Canada
    I'll try it, I have nothing else to go on...
     
  4. PEneoark

    Newcomer PEneoark Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Holley, NY
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, use the latest firmware. If it does not self update, hold down the select button when you boot the CycloDS. I had the same issue, and that was what I did to fix it.
     
  5. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you're referring to a force update, newer versions use Down+B rather than Start+Select.
     
  6. wwwhizz
    This message by wwwhizz has been removed from public view by Veho, Aug 8, 2015, Reason: Unnecessary necrobump.
    Aug 8, 2015
  7. Lukein3D
    This message by Lukein3D has been removed from public view by Veho, Aug 8, 2015, Reason: Unnecessary necrobump.
    Aug 8, 2015

Share This Page