Cracking an NES rom without the source code--is it possible?

Aldrich

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm sure the answer should be obvious for anyone with experience working with the software, but as a rank amateur I'm in the dark.

As I mentioned in my introductory post, I have a few pipe dreams concerning a handful of nes games and fulfilling those involves some figurative heavy lifting. Before any of that can take place, I need to know if its even possible to work with a rom without having the source code at hand. For one example, what I would like to do is add two extra sprites for each enemy in Earthbound zero/beginnings as a form of pseudo-animation--an attacking sprite and a wounded sprite to be displayed when its the enemy's turn and during the flashing section once they've taken damage. In order to organize and install these new images, how much of the game's code would I need to fully grasp?

EBZ is relatively fortunate as a few tutorial pages exist on romhacking.net's wiki, but I am not sure if these would help matters very much:
http://datacrystal.romhacking.net/wiki/EarthBound_Zero:ROM_map

Again, any sort of advice or guidance is immensely appreciated!

VinsCool

Persona Secretiva Felineus
Global Moderator
Trophies
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
Country
Canada
Well it may be possible to decompile a game, and add the modified code, then finally recompile.
I'm not any more knowledgeable though. Hopefully someone else will add more information to this post.

nl255

Trophies
XP
Country