Could use some help...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Neomotion, Jan 10, 2015.

  1. Neomotion
    OP

    Neomotion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    Netherlands
    Hi. New member here. :)

    Just dropped in to ask a question, something I can't really figure out.

    I had a setup which worked like a charm, until my hard drive quit. So now I have a new hard drive (2,5 500gb, formatted in fat32). But, this new drive doesn't use it's own powersource like the old one. The old one was always spinning, the new one doesn't get triggered by the wii. When I unplug and plug back in, it reacts and the wii sees it. But as soon as it reads, it falls back into sleepmode it seems. Am I missing something? Or doesn't this drive work with the wii?

    I am using a Hitachi Z5K500 drive, and an encasing from Lightinthebox for usb connection. Anyone?
     
  2. Neomotion
    OP

    Neomotion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    Netherlands
    Also, I am using GX Loader if that makes any difference. I had it working with a Seagate External HDD, but that one died. This is an internal HDD which is now in a casing to use as external usb. It works on my Macbook. Really bummed...
     
  3. Yepi69

    Yepi69 Vivid and busy gamer

    Member
    2,422
    1,022
    Nov 29, 2010
    Portugal
    Behind you
    Some hard disks require you to connect to 2 USB ports since one doesn't provide enough power, try connecting to 2 USB ports using the Y-USB cable provided with the encasing
     
    Neomotion likes this.
  4. Neomotion
    OP

    Neomotion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    Netherlands
    It only came with a normal regular cable, but I do have one. Unfortunately, it doesn't work. It only works when I unplug the drive when the wii is starting, and then plug it back in. It comes to life, but only for a short while. Then it goes idle again. I think. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  5. Neomotion
    OP

    Neomotion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    Netherlands
    To clarify, I ment to say I do have a Y-cable and I did what you suggested, but unfortunately it doesn't work.
     
  6. Yepi69

    Yepi69 Vivid and busy gamer

    Member
    2,422
    1,022
    Nov 29, 2010
    Portugal
    Behind you
    Does the same happen when you connect it to your computer?
     
  7. Neomotion
    OP

    Neomotion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    Netherlands
    No, when I connect it to my macbook, it works just fine
     
  8. Neomotion
    OP

    Neomotion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    Netherlands
    It is almost as af the wii isn't triggering the hard disk. Could it be because I have it formatted to Fat32, and the other one was formatted to wbfs?
     
  9. Neomotion
    OP

    Neomotion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    Netherlands
    No one? :(
     
  10. Yepi69

    Yepi69 Vivid and busy gamer

    Member
    2,422
    1,022
    Nov 29, 2010
    Portugal
    Behind you
    Try formatting to WBFS then
     
  11. Neomotion
    OP

    Neomotion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    Netherlands
    Had hoped to avoid that, such a chore. But I guess thats the next option.
     
  12. Neomotion
    OP

    Neomotion Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jan 10, 2015
    Netherlands
    But unfortunately, that also doesn't work. Gonna try to swap this drive with my ps3 drive, and see if that one works like intended.