Content Aware Fill

Discussion in 'GBAtemp Art Studio' started by _Chaz_, Apr 26, 2010.

Apr 26, 2010

Content Aware Fill by _Chaz_ at 10:52 PM (2,100 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. _Chaz_
    OP

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    So, after downloading getting Photoshop CS5, I found a new feature known as content aware fill. I tried it out and (after figuring out how to use it) I found that it really is a revolutionary feature!

    Here's a video:



    I think that this could really revolutionize how we graphic designers create our works and save us loads of time in doing so.
     
  2. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    wow that's really cool!
     
  3. updowners

    Member updowners lurklurklurk

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,323
    Country:
    Australia
    Hehe. I played around with it a couple days ago. Pretty fun and it's easy to use too. I hope it'll be a useful tool for me.
     
  4. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    That's always the point of the demo videos, they find specific scenarios where it will actually work to beneficial effect, but I'm betting most people will get very differing results.

    It would be nice if Adobe could spend half the time developing UI improvements and adding settings and preferences to bring the software up to this decade's standard as they do producing these these gimmick features. It took them how many years just to add docking windows? Yet if I relied on Photoshop (which I don't because Paintshop Pro is superior in most ways that count) I would be constantly digging through sub menus to reach my most accessed tools, and a mess of windows to adjust their settings. It's amazing to me how I can operate PSP with nothing but my Intuos3 hotkeys, yet Photoshop requires no less than being tethered to a keyboard and memorizing 200 shortcuts to operate.

    Right now my major gripes with CS5 is they somehow botched the smudge tool--hopefully a symptom of the pre release but who knows. Other tools like the gradient fill are still in desperate need of an overhaul. They still improved very little outside of the new gimmicks, like consolidating resource files to My Documents so I don't have to dig through subdirectories for relevant files. And they divided the brushes menu into two, so now I could enjoy twice the hassle of frequently adjusting brush settings.

    Also their attempts to encroach upon Corel's Painter seems lackluster and insulting--like we're supposed to wait for three more full versions before they'll really get around to it.
     
  5. Raika

    Member Raika uguu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    uguu
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Damn this is gonna be so helpful...
    But I don't wanna upgrade from CS3 just for this. [​IMG]
     
  6. Porygon-X

    Member Porygon-X GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    Canada. Shieeet
    Country:
    China
    So, did you download get Windows 7 while you were at it?
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  7. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    That isnt new. its in CS4.
     
  8. MegaAce™

    Member MegaAce™ Steal back your future.

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,698
    Country:
    Germany
    Are you sure? Because I never saw that feature in my CS4.
     
  9. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. I had to use it to paint out an animation rig. I painted with the clone tool around the ends of the rig and then painted over the rig with the content aware tool tool to make the rest of it disappear. The tool looked like a band aid. maybe its a different tool.

    And btw in the video, that post removal looks waaaaaay to nice. im calling fakes.

    Sorry about the above post i sound like a dick. I really didnt mean to :[​IMG]:
     
  10. chA1nBull3t

    Member chA1nBull3t GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, Eastern US
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty useful feature.. However, it's really only good for extremely high resolution images which may end up being shrunk in the long run.
    Small detail work such as cutting out wires/mesh in photos works pretty well too, but taking out an entire building or a boat still causes some irregularities.

    Sure it's not perfect but imo, it's more of a for-fun, if not, quick and easy touch up tool (which is all it really is). Nontheless, adobe has some pretty crazy ass algorithms to do stuff like this.

    It's very interesting and fun to play around with.
     
  11. redsmas

    Member redsmas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Luton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Using content aware i turned
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    its a novelty tool but it can speed things up a bit
     
  12. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,740
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    It's pretty good. I used it to remove the cock from David Cameron's head.
     
  14. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    You can see where that speck touches his hair, there's a bit of a blur that Content Aware messed up. Its not that great of a tool in my opinion but still helpful.
     
  15. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Still, Im gonna wait for 4 months before I upfrade to CS5. After all, CS4 still gets things done for me
    And I wont upgrade just for that.

    --------------
    Is CS5's size like almost 1GB??
    Portable is just 60MB
     
  16. redsmas

    Member redsmas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    Luton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was supposed to be about how its helpful but not perfect, i tried it again uses other tools and it took a lot longer. Using a combination it really speeds up a process.
     
  17. Snorlax

    Member Snorlax POSTMODERNISM

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It's not created to make images look flawless. It's just a tool to fasten the overall editing process. :>
     

Share This Page