1. LadyHaywood

    LadyHaywood Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    It could if they feck up like EA did for the sims 4, but if it's like pillars or divinity then it'll be fine. Those's games work really well with a controller so I'm not too worried about these coming over.
     
  2. GothicIII

    GothicIII GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    730
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I have played 200hrs PoE on PS4 and I was very mad at how shitty the programming was. It crashed a LOT and for every loading screen I could go and make a coffee. So yes it works very well but every port needs to be polished (I love old school rpgs so I didnt give up) and not just thrown onto the market for quick cash.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
    LadyHaywood likes this.
  3. LadyHaywood

    LadyHaywood Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    I've never played it on playstation since I've been playing on both the 2014 xbox one and the xbox one s and never ran into any bugs or crashing. I do agree, loading takes forever which is why I play it mostly on the s and it's gotten better since launch.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  4. GothicIII

    GothicIII GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    730
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    (Sry for a bit OT)
    For PoE it wil crash if you are hoarding stash. If you collect unique items it will crash every 1-2hrs after 100items or so. My error logs are full of PoE. I think on PS4 it is more problematic than on Xbox. The developer said it is a Unity problem (I believe it but then I wouldnt port it to Unity). It is really sad and history repeats itself. I dont dislike the developer they have also made e.g. cities skyline and it works really really good.
     
    LadyHaywood likes this.
  5. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,468
    Country:
    United States
    I really wished companies wouldn't be so stupid as to lose the source code to their own games. How lazy can you get?
     
  6. RedBlueGreen

    RedBlueGreen GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,628
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, that's it, it's laziness. It's not like hard drive failure could cause the source code and original copy of the assets to be lost.
     
    LadyHaywood likes this.
  7. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    29,468
    Country:
    United States
    Or, you know, have backups and backups?
     
  8. AbyssalMonkey

    AbyssalMonkey GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's not like these games were released two decades ago. It's also not like the company who owned the rights to these games didn't get bought out. It's also not like tape drives get lost. It's again not like cloud backups have been commercially viable for small companies in only the past 10 years. /s

    Backups don't solve all the issues. In all likelihood, the source code was stored on a CD or Tape drive. In the case of a CD, they degrade over time. In both cases, with the property change from the now not-the-same developer or publishers, and the changing office locations and the bankruptcies that may have happened, losing the original source code is trivially easy. In fact, I'm more surprised Beamdog was able to get their hands on the original source code for as many games as they have.

    Losing source code is extremely common. This goes doubly true for things that were produced in the time before cloud backups were commercially available. You can shame and blame them all you want, but how many files have you lost before the year 2010? How many CDs that have installer information, music mix tracks, work projects, are lying around that you have simply misplaced? Have you changed your residency before? How much of the stuff when you moved seemingly disappeared even though you could swear you packed it?

    Don't hold yourself to be the highest paragon of data preservation. You make mistakes, companies do too. You can't just blame a single front-end company for a mistake that was likely not even theirs to begin with.
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Planescape, versions, Console