OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
whoa

Anyway, I've been borrowing my friend's PSP for like two months, I just love the thing so damn much. It's in a class that makes it unique from my DS (which feels more like a toy) Anyway, I've done shitloads for a console that isn't even mine from fixing his Wifi daughterboard [I broke the MS springloader] and upgrading his firmware from 3.71 M33 to 5.50 GEN (oh and it was a pain in the ass let me tell you, piggybacking upgrades). I REALLY like the homebrew community, its ease of use, its broad range of emulator compatability (and of course, piracy lol). So I'm considering purchasing one of my own. My friend's poor and refuses to donate money to my PSP fund ):
Also I'm a dick I'm buying it for the piracy. I'll be honest.

So I've got a few questions:
1) I plan on buying a PSP Slim [2000?] because I've heard that it's less awkward to hold and that it's also somewhat sturdier. But it looks...cheaper to me. Likewise, I know from experience the innards of the PSP-1000 are flimsy. What's your opinion? Fat PSP or Slim?

2) I'm going to buy it from Gamestop. it's $119 used. I don't want a new one. Any suggestions online where I could find it for cheaper and like new/refurbished? Ebay is lame. If not don't get too bent out of shape, it's pure curiosity.

3) I know a PSP isn't as sturdy as a DS, so I want to take extra care of it, too. What kind of accessories should I get? Brand specific? (screen protectors, shock armor etc.)

4) What are you doing when you're "pandorizing" a battery? I did my research - I know the end result of the battery is to prevent it from bricks and to allow backups to be played from a Memory Stick as well as make UMDs region-free - but what's going on with the inside? Does the lithium battery hold memory data for the PSP or something?