1. Mythical

    OP Mythical GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,854
    Country:
    United States
    So I've been trying to set up my wifi so I can host my Killing Floor 2 Servers.
    My wifi is cable line -> modem -> router -> ethernet to hosting pc
    On this wifi I was having troubles with my port forwards going though, which lead me to realize people can't even ping my external ip (I can internally).
    What I've done:
    1) Set up static ip
    2) turned off upnp
    3) setup port forwards on router
    4) configured firewall on router and hosting pc
    5) restarted router
    After this the ports don't seem to be forwarded and even without all of this I'm unable to have my external ip pinged from outside my network (it seems I'm completely unable to recieve packets)
    I've tried completely disabling firewall temporaily, dmz, open nat, turning off extra programs and antivirus and I still can't get it to work.
    I also called my isp and made sure there weren't any issues on their end.
    I also this wirelessly on my network as well.

    Does anyone have any clue why my computer internet works just fine except I can't ping my external ip externally and I can't get port forwards to go through?
    This is very frustrating and I can't seem to figure out my problem.
     
  2. Magsor

    Magsor I am watching you
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,163
    Country:
    Canada
    Buy another router?
     
  3. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,312
    Country:
    United States
    A lot of routers block ping requests as a security measure. This can usually be disabled in the router's firewall. You also shouldn't be using ping requests to see if a port is open. You can either use the site CanYouSeeMe, or you can use the CLI tool nmap. It's also a good idea to not have a firewall or AV on the server host. It's an even better idea to not run this out of your house, but I guess everyone has to experience this headache at least once.
     
    Mythical and alexander1970 like this.
  4. Mythical

    OP Mythical GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,854
    Country:
    United States
    Turns out my problem was what I thought to be a modem was a modem/router combo, I managed to fix the problem :D. Thanks for the help Joom
     
    alexander1970 and Joom like this.
  5. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4,196
    Country:
    Laos
    Usually you fix that problem by putting the modem/router into something called 'bridge mode' (if they support it), which would disable the 'routing part' of it, or to add your secondary routers IP to the modem/routers DMZ (demilitarized zone), basically disabling all firewall aspects of the modem/router combo for the secondary router.

    Or in lesser 'broad stroke' ways, if your modem/router is actually configurable beyond that. ;)
     
    Last edited by notimp, Jul 26, 2020
    alexander1970 likes this.
  6. Mythical

    OP Mythical GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,854
    Country:
    United States
    I tried bridged mode and it made my internet break, had to do a whole reset of both modems/routers. Thanks for the help though :D
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  7. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4,196
    Country:
    Laos
    Bridge mode should make the router/modem behave as a modem/switch only (so dropping all routing functionality). ;)

    Main issue here is, that we dont know what your router/modem does exactly. ;) Personally I'm also behind 'double routers' (but I can port forward ;) ), and I never had problems with pinging the wider internet, even at default settings.. ;)

    So most of what you are doing is actually trying to figure out what that 'box does' and trying to prevent some of that.. ;) DMZ or bridge mode are the 'inelegant' solutions of "stop most of what you are doing (firewall)" - that would help most people in those situations. That you didnt have to use them is actually a good thing.. ;)
     
    Mythical and alexander1970 like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - externally), Connection, Problems