Hacking Complete newbie

evadwolrab

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Could someone kindly give me a quick noob guide?

What is accepted as the best chip generally?

Can you still play online with backup games?

What's the best way to get your Wii chipped in the UK? DIY or some other way? (this might have to be done through PM I assume)

Can a US image be played on a chipped UK Wii? (PAL)

I'm all good with DS carts etc, but I've only just thought about chipping my Wii!

Oh yeah, apparently I have a low enough serial number for it to work according to my gf who checked last night - I got mine in the first UK batch on launch day.

Samutz

Trophies
Website
samutz.com
XP
Country
United States
What is accepted as the best chip generally?
Wiikey was popular until it took them months to release their 1.9b update. But the last update come out much faster (a few days). There are also several other popular chips though, such as CycloWiiz, OpenWii, Wiinja, etc. I think it comes down to opinion. I have a Wiikey and I'm perfectly happy with it.
However if you have a D2C drive/chipset, your only choice is D2Ckey, as all other chips only work on D2A and D2B.

Can you still play online with backup games?
Yes.

Can a US image be played on a chipped UK Wii? (PAL)
Mostly, yes. However some games will semi-brick your Wii or just not work at all.
I personally have not tried playing games from another region, so there should be others else with better explanations.

QUOTE(evadwolrab @ Nov 7 2007, 06:21 AM)
Oh yeah, apparently I have a low enough serial number for it to work according to my gf who checked last night - I got mine in the first UK batch on launch day.
Then you shouldn't have to worry about the D2C thing. You should have a D2A.

If there's anything I didn't answer, it's because I don't know the answer.

1337Nemo

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Gambia, The

loresfx

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
QUOTE said: