1. lolzvid

    OP lolzvid GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Brazil
    [​IMG]

    Already reinstalled everything present at the devkitPro folder, rebooted (it gave me some very weird memory errors and violation access), and I'm slowly losing my sanity

    This started today, yesterday it was absolutely fine with every other project and example (I didn't do any recent changes or alterations in the devkitPro folder contents)
     
    Last edited by lolzvid, Dec 5, 2015
    TLOZmaster likes this.
  2. elhobbs

    elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    905
    Country:
    United States
    Does the same happen if you use msys rather than the Windows cmd prompt?
     
  3. lolzvid

    OP lolzvid GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just hangs (do absolutely nothing, prompt screen in blank)

    I've already reinstalled msys, too (downloaded it from 3 other sources, other than devkitPro's installer), but nothing

    There are some logs at the libctru folder, should I upload it here?

    EDIT: Programs are starting to crash within minutes on Windows, I really hope that the memory isn't fucked up
     
    Last edited by lolzvid, Dec 5, 2015
    TLOZmaster likes this.
  4. TLOZmaster

    TLOZmaster GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    United States
    I would back up your Hard Drive or what is important on it and reinstall windows. If you have a phone with the space, I would download the win10/8/7/xp iso with that and then copy it over onto a disc or a flash drive and boot it with either of those.


    Whoops, I needed to add that I am not entirely sure if this would work, I haven't had a memory problem before.
     
    Last edited by TLOZmaster, Dec 5, 2015
    lolzvid likes this.
  5. lolzvid

    OP lolzvid GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm doing this right now (my external hard drive is finally in use)...

    :ohnoes:
     
  6. TLOZmaster

    TLOZmaster GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    United States
    How much space does your ext. hard drive have? If it is low, I would just backup important things cx

    But I guess that is a given.
     
  7. lolzvid

    OP lolzvid GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Brazil
    500GB (~370GB free)

    I've restarted my computer again, but now it seems like normal (maybe a problem related to RAM?), but I still can't compile anything.
     
  8. VegaRoXas

    VegaRoXas GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    290
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Reinstalling windows just for compiling something? I would just wait. Maybe someone could help you lol.
    You could use https://c9.io/ to build it online in linux.
     
    lolzvid likes this.
  9. Mariosegafreak

    Mariosegafreak AKA ZeroTheSavior
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    United States
    msys takes about five minutes to initialize on first run, I suggest you wait...
     
    lolzvid likes this.
  10. lolzvid

    OP lolzvid GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, after my computer kept off for some minutes, it now compiles...

    ...what the heck.
     
    VegaRoXas likes this.
  11. dark_samus3

    dark_samus3 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,372
    Country:
    United States
    Definitely sounds like a RAM issue... Maybe the chips are getting too hot on it? I've had RAM issues before and it took me months to track down the problems (mainly because windows worked fine and so did Linux until I tried to do anything memory intensive) trust me when I say memory problems are the most slippery, elusive messed up little bugs in the system you'll have. Now if you're like me and have 2 modules pull one out and see if you have problems and if you do then you know that either the other stick is bad or its something else, then repeat with the other stick (putting the first one back into place ofc) and if issues persist then it isn't the RAM at all or is both sticks
     
    lolzvid likes this.
  12. lolzvid

    OP lolzvid GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Brazil
    I was doing some RAM repairing/checking with Windows, and it said that everything was fine... Oh well.
     
  13. dark_samus3

    dark_samus3 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,372
    Country:
    United States
    That's the thing, my RAM fully passed an hour long test, go to compile Android and it was segmentation faulting (it was trying to access memory that didn't exist/was malfunctioning) pulled out one of my sticks BAM working fine, put just that bad stick in and issues returned... Yet it still was passing memory tests which I found really weird
     
    lolzvid likes this.
  14. elhobbs

    elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    905
    Country:
    United States
    Were you using a memory test from your system manufacturer? I have found that these tests are completely useless. I have not used one that was able to find anything unless it had completely failed. At which point you don't really need the test software.
     
    dark_samus3 likes this.
  15. dark_samus3

    dark_samus3 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,372
    Country:
    United States
    Nah just the memtest86 in the grub menu
     
    Last edited by dark_samus3, Dec 6, 2015
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Compiling, issues],