CNET downloads push adware now.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Rydian, Aug 17, 2011.

Aug 17, 2011

CNET downloads push adware now. by Rydian at 9:31 PM (5,423 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.ghacks.net/2011/08/17/the-cnet-...-com-installer/

    I noticed brothersoft did this as well, but it seems now CNET isn't giving you the actual program, but instead a web installer that downloads the program while pushing adware...

    In addition it doesn't save the actual install file, so you need to go grab it out of your TEMP directory before it's removed if you're downloading something to install on another machine with no internet.
     
  2. Quietlyawesome94

    Member Quietlyawesome94 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for this. I actually noticed this a few weeks back and unchecked the software it wanted to automatically install without thinking much of it.

    Sounds like they are probably making lots of cash off of this.
     
  3. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    I noticed that... that's really terrible.
    Downloading software is getting harder and harder...
     
  4. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    I try not to use CNET wherever possible...

    but this is horrible...
     
  5. clegion

    Member clegion GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,612
    Country:
    United States
    This is crappy, I often download from cnet, I guess i should get other sources then
     
  6. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    I noticed this the other day when I grabed a program off there site,kind of annoying actually to download crap twice...
     
  7. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Well that just sucks, considering I used to go there to download malwarebytes whenever we set up a machine.
     
  8. moose3

    Member moose3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
    majorgeeks.com can be a good place to look for downloads as a replacement for Cnet, esp for utilities.
     
  9. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    That's my second place for downloads, however, at my office I have a 150mb down and for some reason some of the files I download only go about 18kB sometimes. I know at my office the internet was not lagging, I'm pretty sure the bottleneck was their servers.
     
  10. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States

    Pretty good site,I tend to read the crazy news they post there also...
     
  11. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Well I was setting up a few new desktops with windows 7 and like always, when I download malwarebytes it goes to the cnet download. I was able to get a direct download of the installer and pick where I wanted to save it in IE 9 without any use of a portal.
     
  12. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I just installed malwarebytes on a machine today, and when I clicked the link on the malwarebytes page, I got the executable installer, it didn't lead me anywhere else.
     
  13. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, that's pretty epic. You clicked the download now button on http://www.malwarebytes.org/? I still get directed to Cnet and occasionally majorgeeks.

    It's obviously a php script that has some type of algorithm that chooses which download link it goes to. Not sure how it judges the criteria.
     
  14. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I guess it's their form of load-balancing?

    EDIT: It'll give me bleepingcomputer too.
     
  15. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I agree; they probably mirrored their download to a bunch of sites and they have the mindset of don't keep your eggs in the same basket. In case one site is down (and I wonder if the php script checks for these kinds of things) it points you to a site that's pretty much working. Yay malwarebytes
     
  16. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    CNET Download sucks even more now. The problem is, there are tons of people that use CNET to distribute their programs.
     

Share This Page