Clone r4 III upgrade issues.

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by mrwil, Jan 5, 2012.

Jan 5, 2012

Clone r4 III upgrade issues. by mrwil at 6:00 AM (1,061 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. mrwil
    OP

    Newcomer mrwil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I have a r4-III upgrade and i'm pretty sure it's a clone r4 chip. I've read in the forums and recently i'm trying to play Pokemon Heartgold / SoulSilver but my cheats wouldn't work. I've downloaded the updated USRCHEAT.dat and also trimmed all the codes inside down to the games i only have on my SD Card. All the cheats work for everyother game but when i press Y to access it, it's a blank screen on the bottom. I cant exit it and the only way to fix it is to power down and restart my ds. I really help someone can help me with this issue or know what's going on. Thanks!

    Edited: Shoot, wrong section to post. I'm not sure how to delete it but if it's possible can a Admin move it over to the support section =X
     
  2. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you using RetroGameFan's YSMenu? If not download and install that otherwise play without cheats like a real hardcore gamer.

    Ps. To move/delete the topic, PM a mod.
     
  3. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,889
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It surprises me that you didn't rant on R4 lol.

    As for OP:
    If that doesn't work then it's better to get a AK2i.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. mrwil
    OP

    Newcomer mrwil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not using RetroGameFan's YSMenu. If u could, can u please post the link up i'm just running off the normal software which is 1.18 i think.
     
  5. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    @OP gbatemp.net/topic/267243-retrogamefan-updatesreleases/ for the YSMenu. Never buy any r4s ever again, they all suck nowadays... Buy a DSTWO or Acekard 2i!
    Almost forgot! :P
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. mrwil
    OP

    Newcomer mrwil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    thanks, i'm thinking about investing in 2 new cards. As for the card and DS Lite i have right now, Would it affect some of the new games coming out for the DS console making me unable to play some of the newer games ?
     
  7. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,889
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It wont.
    DS games are DS games and run on every DS console/flashcard (provided with updates etc)
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. mrwil
    OP

    Newcomer mrwil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    As for right now i'm currently backing up my files and trying out RetroGameFan's YS Menu hoping it would solve my issue i originally posted. i'll update on the outcome after. Thanks for taking your time both if u to help me with my problem.
     
  9. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,889
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you're planning on upgrading cards then I suggest either a Acekard 2i or a Supercard DSTwo.
    You'll never have to fiddle around with firmware files ever again (except updating the OS etc)

    Just copy over your games and saves and it will run perfectly ;]
     
  10. mrwil
    OP

    Newcomer mrwil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    lol alright, as for the RetroGameFan YSMenu, when it says Boot your carts firmware, then load YSMenu.nds what does that mean ? i dont really mess around the r4 and ds much cause i'm really bad with these type of things.
     
  11. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,889
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You'll have to load YSMenu trough your cards official firmware.

    Like running a game in the official firmware of the card.
     
  12. mrwil
    OP

    Newcomer mrwil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    alright so far everything seems like it's working again! thanks for the help i really appreciate it.
     
  13. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    So everything's working properly? The cheats as well? Great!
     
  14. mrwil
    OP

    Newcomer mrwil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah thanks for your help, as for the console itself, would u recommend me trading in my DS Lite for a dsi ? Or would it just be good they way it is and keep it. I dont really know what else is different besides the lil joy stick and probably webcam it has ? 3DS is out of the picture since it's still pretty new and probably almost full price if i tried to trade in my DS for it.
     

Share This Page