Clean launch Gateway Mode 100%, no Internet errors!

I've been seeing people having trouble with booting into Gateway, and this guide will help you ensure an always 100% clean boot.

Set up Steps:

1. Turn Wifi Off
2. Boot up your 3DS
4. Open Internet Browser
5. Make a new bookmark for http://go.gateway-3ds.com
6. Clear history and cookies
7. Go back to Tools where bookmarks are, the page should be blank behind
8. Quit Internet Browser and reopen, the page should be blank and the 3DS will have saved this state.
9. Turn back Wifi and turn your console off.

Once you set that up, you can keep your wifi on, and you can follow this so you can have a clean launch every time so you don't get anymore errors:

Launch Steps:

1. Boot your 3DS
2. Quickly launch into Internet Browser and open the Gateway bookmark
3. The page will load just in time for the internet to connect, so it'll never visit another page to fill with cookies or history so you won't get the error anymore.
4. Profit.

OR

Actually the easiest way is to:
1. successfully complete one browser exploit launch after bookmarking the exploit page
2. relaunch the exploit by simply starting the browser and waiting (the browser remembers the last link you inputted after the exploit crash the previous time and retries it)

3. repeat #2 as many times as you please : )


You do NOT have to keep clearing the cookies and history for this. Just be fast to open the bookmark and have a clean tab behind.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cvskid and Margen67

zoogie

playing around in the end of life
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,560
Trophies
2
XP
14,998
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
Actually the easiest way is to:
1. successfully complete one browser exploit launch after bookmarking the exploit page
2. relaunch the exploit by simply starting the browser and waiting (the browser remembers the last link you inputted after the exploit crash the previous time and retries it)
3. repeat #2 as many times as you please : )
 

Reecey

Mario 64 (favorite game of all time)
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
5,869
Trophies
2
Location
At Home :)
XP
4,421
Country
Actually the easiest way is to:
1. successfully complete one browser exploit launch after bookmarking the exploit page
2. relaunch the exploit by simply starting the browser and waiting (the browser remembers the last link you inputted after the exploit crash the previous time and retries it)
3. repeat #2 as many times as you please : )

Edit: sorted it out now.
 

ubergeek77

Post editing world champ.
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
584
Trophies
0
XP
597
Country
United States
Or you can clear your history and cookies, and then when you want to boot the launcher.dat hold L and R on the main menu and scan a QR code of go.gateway-3ds.com, and say yes. It should go automatically from there!
+1

I made a nice snazzy one with the letters "GW" in the middle, taken from the Gateway logo.

Put the words "LAUNCH GATEWAY" above the image, printed it all out on a small, index card-sized peice of paper, and pinned it up to my wall. Extremely useful.

10/10 would Gateway again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kelton2

Errorjack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
222
Trophies
0
XP
299
Country
United States
+1

I made a nice snazzy one with the letters "GW" in the middle, taken from the Gateway logo.

Put the words "LAUNCH GATEWAY" above the image, printed it all out on a small, index card-sized peice of paper, and pinned it up to my wall. Extremely useful.

10/10 would Gateway again.


QR codes are way slower, because you always have to have the QR code near by. zoogie's way is way better.

Or you can do what I do; make a NAND backup, downgrade to 4.2 where the internet free exploit can be used, and then restore your nand backup if you need your original FW for whatever reason.





I enjoy retail games on my console, and there aren't many plus sides to 4.5 besides the DS Exploit.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,712
Trophies
2
XP
8,408
Country
Tuvalu
I enjoy retail games on my console, and there aren't many plus sides to 4.5 besides the DS Exploit.

well, decrypting stuff, which is very useful, can only be done at 4.x for now, that is a huge plus, bigger than not needing wifi to load gw :)
 

Errorjack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
222
Trophies
0
XP
299
Country
United States
well, decrypting stuff, which is very useful, can only be done at 4.x for now, that is a huge plus, bigger than not needing wifi to load gw :)


There is that, but I don't need that. I'm not 100% interested in developing for 3DS as I don't want to run the risk of bricks.
 

Funky.Art

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 23, 2015
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
124
Country
France
Sorry for upping this thread, but with my new 3ds in 9.0.0-21 E, and when i'm going to http://go.gateway-3ds.com/, it's saying in a black screen : GATEWAY 3DS LOADING... and then nothing... I've waited for minutes and minutes... Do you know what i have to do ? i took the last launcher.dat from the site, i don't own a Gateway
 

zoogie

playing around in the end of life
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,560
Trophies
2
XP
14,998
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
Sorry for upping this thread, but with my new 3ds in 9.0.0-21 E, and when i'm going to http://go.gateway-3ds.com/, it's saying in a black screen : GATEWAY 3DS LOADING... and then nothing... I've waited for minutes and minutes... Do you know what i have to do ? i took the last launcher.dat from the site, i don't own a Gateway
That internet exploit is for spider browser, which is old 3ds.
 

Silmi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
71
Country
Belgium
Tried for one hour and it still don't work, I'm on O3DS on 9.2 with the launcher.dat installed on the root of the sd card
 

ElyosOfTheAbyss

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2015
Messages
2,225
Trophies
1
XP
1,901
Country
Are you laughing it from a CFW? For me launching gateway from a CFW doesn't work. If you aren't try launching it using the Homebrew launcher
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,191
Country
Antarctica
So, instead of "boot.3dsx" I should usea the Gateway one? Of course, I should rename it so it can be located.

You can do that, but your boot rates might be bad without a boot manager like BootCTR or CTRBootManager. Try it and see, you can always rename things back to how you had them.
 

Marco47

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2016
Messages
42
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
68
Country
Argentina
You can do that, but your boot rates might be bad without a boot manager like BootCTR or CTRBootManager. Try it and see, you can always rename things back to how you had them.
Is there any noob proof tutorial on how to use BootCTR or CTRBootManager? :)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    well its just that stand at the station i talked about, its open to the street too, yet its much better quality and by actual greeks working there
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    so yea even street food has differences in quality
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    but I suppose this was from a big chain
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    so that makes the difference
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    or something
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    bbl
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    well, i'm sick
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I've felt sick yesterday.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i replaced my family's toilet seat last night too
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    all by myself
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    awwwh poor baby
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    maybe you're sick by replacing that
    +1
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    maybe it was too filthy and you got ill
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    I'm sorry I wasn't a sweetie, n wiped the seatie, when I was at your house n used the toilet. Really I am :mellow:
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    no, I meant that as a good thing, as an accomplishment
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    okies. [takes back my "awwwh poor baby" back] :mellow:
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    how is becoming sick an acomplishment?
    +1
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    but yea don't worry, i get it, I mean I got you wanted to say it was accomplishment
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    but i you got sick because of it then its not very good
    +1
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    if*
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i don't think it was because of that
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    my brother has it worse than me, and he didn't replace a toilet seat
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    ok
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    if youre sure he didn't get it from you in turn
    LeoTCK @ LeoTCK: if youre sure he didn't get it from you in turn