cIOSCORP v3.x maker needs help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by damysteryman, Sep 9, 2009.

Sep 9, 2009
  1. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hi everyone,

    I'm glad that a lot of people like my cIOSCORP v3.x.

    But it still has some bugs.

    Here are some off the top of my head:
    1. Only SystemMenu IOS & IOS36 have Dual layer disc support, as they use cIOS249 rev12's DIP, due to cIOS249 rev14's DIP lacking it.
    2. Because of IOS36 using rev12's DIP, Mario Kart Wii gives #001 error when burnt onto a DVD-R, as rev14 is the only DIP that properly fixes #001 error.
    3. RawkSD does not seem to be compatible with my cIOS37
    4. ES_DiVerify (ES_Identify) patch only allows identification as SU, but not SystemMenu.

    As you can see, the first bug can be a big problem with compatibility, especially for users with Metroid Prime Trilogy, and also if later games are released on a Dual Layer disc.

    Bug 4 seems to annoy people who use AnyTitleDeleter (but it doesn't bother me).

    Bug 3 should be (AFAIK) easy to fix, provided I know what patch I have to apply.

    Bugs 1 & 2 can only be fixed by modifying rev14's DIP module, and bug 4 can only be fixed by modifying the IOS kernel.

    AFAIK the rev14's DIP bugs may have something to do with the disc read/cache timings.
    I have already messaged waninkoko regarding the bugs in rev14's DIP (but I'm not sure if I'll get a response...)
    I have already messaged AerialX about the RawkSD patch. (haven't got a reply just yet)

    So... does anybody else able to disassemble and/or hack IOS modules?
    Is anybody able to change the timings inside rev14's DIP module back to that of an older DIP module?
    Is anybody able to change the ES_DiVerify function to allow identification as SU and SystemMenu?
    Or even better, remove whatever is stopping it?

    I am also working on Korean Wii and disc support too.
    I have already messaged QLeap (the guy who added korean wii and disc support to AnyregionChanger), and I have already added korean key support to most of the IOS for the next cIOSCORP. BTW, can anybody PM me the Korean EULA wad? (It is not on NUS)

    If you can do any of these things, please tell me.

    Thanks in advance,
    da_letter_a
     


  2. ChokeD

    Member ChokeD The Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    967
    Country:
    United States
    If I could help I would, you might try to PM WiiPower as he seems to know a hell of a lot about this stuff.
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    1:
    Use another dip module for IOS36, choices are:
    rev7: only SL, perfect 001 patch, no 002 patch(good)
    rev8-12+13b: DL supoort, bad 001/002 patch
    rev11: ? (maybe the same as rev12)
    rev12: broken 001 patch in combination with disc channel or Sam & Max fix
    rev13a: no 002 patch
    rev14: broken DL support

    I don't know about the gamecube issues. And i don't know which IOS is used to load the main.dol when starting a game from disc channel. Test with a 002b game:
    The IOS the game uses has to have rev13a, 14 or 7 dip module. Try rev13a and rev13b for the system menu IOS, if both work then you don't need to worry about the bad 001/002 patches, if rev13b freezes with a green screen, it's a mess.

    2:
    see 1

    3:
    I don't know how it works, does it use dip patched IOS37 or just a trucha + ES_Idenitfy patched IOS37? It allows to play customs from sd card right? If i knew how it works and not what you need to install/run, i could tell you more(i hope).

    4:
    That's wrong. I thought the same for quite a long time. On new IOS, ES_Idenitfy is partly broken, you can only use it once per IOS Reload. If you do an IOS Reload in ATD between both Idenitfies, it works. I'm just too lazy to write another ATD mod, there are too many already anyways.
     
  4. ChokeD

    Member ChokeD The Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    967
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply WiiPower.
     
  5. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands

    about part 4... i was informed yesterday on bootmii that the whole hackmii installer problems with cioscorps comes partly from problems with the ES_identify
     
  6. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    i actually love rev 11 for an alternitive its better than rev 12 on my 3.2 anyhow [​IMG] so if hermes 222/223 loaders or rev 14 under ios249 wont work i just go down to rev 11 to check because it seems to play anything!
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    And what do disc channel and NeoGamma say about your rev11? Rev12 does not work with them, i saw that 20 min after the release. But i don't know if that issue was introduced in rev11, i never had that installed.
     
  8. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you use Hermes DIP Module in CIOSCORP? If so that would probably have the best compatibility.
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Hermes cIOS read DVD-Rs? That would be new to me.
     
  10. Unfortune

    Member Unfortune GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Country:
    Pakistan
    If you go into Preloader and change the System Menu IOS to 36 no games will give a 001 error anymore.

    Tested with a Mario Kart DVD-R, booktype not set to anything different. On System Menu 3.2U.
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You have that cioscorp version with rev12 dip module in IOS36 installed and are able to play Mario Kart from disc channel??? Sorry, that's confusing, could you please triple check that that's really what you did?
     
  12. Unfortune

    Member Unfortune GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Country:
    Pakistan
    yeah.
     
  13. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    the hell?
    this thread is not for 12 year olds. dont waste space.
     
  14. Unfortune

    Member Unfortune GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Country:
    Pakistan
    HEY! ARE you racist to 12 year olds?

    ITS TRUE! thats what i did with cioscorp v3.3 and its working fine ~~~
     
  15. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    haha no im ageist.
    this thread was made to help make cioscorp better
    if you are no help, then be gone.
     
  16. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    And i thought 3.4 is the version with the rev12 dip on IOS36...What about triple checking did you not understand?
     
  17. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Actually if you can (and believe you can) change the source of the Hermes's cIOS installer, then you can install the merge 36/37 as IOS37 and that might make the RawkSD to work properly...!! [​IMG]
     
  18. Nikj14

    Member Nikj14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Canada
    what CIOS does softcorp use to play backups? 231? what DIP version would that use then....
     
  19. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Country:
    United States
    what sucks is... to use rawkSD i have to use ciocorpsV2... it's so annyoing... let me know if you got a fix... i can't help so i'm out...
     
  20. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thanks for the replies everyone. You've been very helpful.

    @WiiPower:
    Thanks for the infos. I will try out the test you posted.

    Also:
    1. waninkoko messaged me back, saying that he has fixed the DIP module, but his cIOS249 is still going through testing for bugs etc. [​IMG]
    2. as above ^
    3. ?
    4. I can't believe it was that simple! (waninkoko told me about this in his message too). I believe RedSquirrel has already updated his ATD MOD to support this.

    I can't exactly test out any RawkSD stuff, as:
    1. the patcher requires wifi, my Wii currently doesn't have that
    2. I don't have Rock band

    @DJPlace
    You said you got RawkSD working with cIOS37 from cIOSCORP v2?
    After installing cIOSCORP v2, did you have to run the patcher again, or did it just... work fine?
     

Share This Page