Cios installer error

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by bones101, Aug 9, 2009.

Aug 9, 2009

Cios installer error by bones101 at 2:40 PM (878 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. bones101
    OP

    Newcomer bones101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi im a newbie here and new to all the wii hacking so need a litle help with this.

    i have sucssefuly installed homebrew on my wii along with the Cios installer ( i cant find what version this is i got it from xbins it came with the wiigator backup launcher ) and have sucssefuly installed the wiigator 0.3 beta back-up launcher my wii has firmaware 3.2e and everything works fine.

    it came to doing my girlfreinds wii for her and i got the homebrew channel installed but when i launch the cios installer it starts off as normal but then it gets to part 9/15 (i guess its downloading info) it fails and i just get a load of numbers her wii has firmware 4.0e. ive tried google but i just get loads other things that are of no use to me.

    do i need to downgrade her firmware to a lower 1 so im able to install cios on her wii ( i dont wana brick it ) or is there another way of installing it. i did read that cios and wad had been disabled by nintendo in a firmware update any help would be very much appreciated and if you need any other info just ask me il be glad to give it to you if i can.
     
  2. EtherealX

    Member EtherealX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like her internet connection isn't stable enough to get through the network installer. It's perfectly fine to have 4.0 (or 4.1) without any problems (preferred.) If it continues to fail, then you could try an offline installer. Search the forums and you'll find one.
     
  3. bones101
    OP

    Newcomer bones101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That may be the problem she only has 1 of those usb dongle iternet things an then i run the wifi off of the base station it came with i did notice befor that when she was on her laptop while i was trying to install once befor that the connection timed out.

    i did try a ofline install that was in the read me file it said to download theses files

    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/tmd.1042
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...0100000024/cetk
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000000
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000001
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000002
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000003
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000004
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000005
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000006
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000007
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000008
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/00000009
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/0000000a
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/0000000b
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/0000000c
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/0000000d
    http://nus.cdn.shop.wii.com/ccs/download/0...000024/0000000e

    then put them on the root of the sd card under the file name /00000001/00000024/v1042/ but when i create a new file i cant put the / into the folder name. this is the same method i see everywere i look but knowone says how to place a / in the file name. then it just says to put the sd card in the wii an run the install is that correct.
     
  4. bones101
    OP

    Newcomer bones101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok so i just searched agan and turns out that i was a bit dumb not to notice but i now realize that i have to create a folder in the root called 00000001 then in that a folder called 000000024 then a folder inside that called v1042 then put my download files in that an then reinstall it offline an it will work apparently just gota get to my girlfreinds to test it now.
     

Share This Page