Chrono Cross on PSP

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Odanhammer, Feb 10, 2009.

Feb 10, 2009

Chrono Cross on PSP by Odanhammer at 4:59 PM (5,448 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Odanhammer
    OP

    Newcomer Odanhammer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Recently tried downloading a copy and putting it on the PSP.
    Works great, loads up , but when the first boss battle happens. the game freezes when you beat him. Been looking for a way to fix it as i know people can get past that point. But haven't had any luck with the fixes, they just either crash the game on startup or do nothing.
    Any help would be apprecaited.
     
  2. slaphappygamer

    Member slaphappygamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    what firmware do you have? are you using popsloader, if so what version pops?
     
  3. mrgone

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    if i remember right, ONLY pops version 3.40 did the trick
     
  4. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Looks at the poploader compatibility list, then use popsloader to select the firmware which emulates the game the best. You can find the popsloader compatibility list at the PSP FAQs thread.
     
  5. Cryingmoose

    Newcomer Cryingmoose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    I found a save for right after that battle,
    however once I got to King M*something* boss @ viper manor
    same thing happen

    I've tried a handful of workarounds to no luck.
    Using the most recent m33, I've tried single disc and multidisc eboots.
    various popsloader options.

    The compatabily list says to switch disc's to avoid the freezing b4 title screen (haven't got that working yet)
     
  6. Odanhammer
    OP

    Newcomer Odanhammer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using the lastest firmware.
    Tried a torrent download, which worked up till the first boss battle and would freeze.
    The other method i tried was burning the iso's from the cds i have to my computer and making a eboot for them.
    That loading screen never gets past the intro movie and changing disks doesn't work for me.
    People keep saying the game works fine , but i haven't had any luck.
     
  7. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
  8. Cryingmoose

    Newcomer Cryingmoose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    K,
    according to PSX on PSP Compatibility List you need to switch disc's to get the game running (as it one load the disc one movies)
    however I haven't found the right pops to allow both disc switching and prevent King Moaman freezing
    so with latest firmware and a both cd's on a single eboot


    no popsloader freezes on first boss and King Moaman
    w/ popsloader 3.03-3.30 game refuses to load and boots you back to psp menu
    w/ popsloader 3.40 won't load or let you switch disc's
    w/ popsloader 3.51 won't load or let you switch disc's
    w/ popsloader 3.52 game refuses to load and boots you back to psp menu
    w/ popsloader 3.72 freezes on King Moaman
    w/ popsloader 3.80 freezes on King Moaman
    w/ popsloader 3.90 freezes on King Moaman
    w/ original from flash freezes on King Moaman


    Going to retry with game ID SCUS-94640
    Got past King Moaman *cheers*
    nevermind... I reset after the boss battle because while testing I ignored stealing the copper weapon off the bats, and now it's stuck freezing on King Moaman again
     
  9. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Multi-disc eboots are not compatible with pops versions below 3.71...go figure why you had half of those results....
     
  10. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Change Game ID to SCUS 94640 and it will work fine on newest pops (multidisc or not eboots).

    I used this program to make the eboot and finished chrono cross in my psp without problems:

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0TXVAS35

    P.S.: If you use this program remember to change Game and Main Game ID to SCUS 94640
     
  11. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My CC multidisc plays fine on 3.72 pops using 4.01 m33-2. I made it myself with PSX2PSP (it also depends on which convertor you use) Chrono Cross [SLUS-01041]
     
  12. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Intro Video (Book opening and etc) doesn't crash in 4.01 in your psp? Here this problem only disappeared with 5.00 pops.
     
  13. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can recheck for you but I'm sure it was fine

    (also I ripped an original disc)

    - Will update shortly

    Edit:

    View the intro (VERY bad quality) here using 4.01 M33-2 with POPS 3.72
    Both Mama Komodo and King Moaman don't freeze either.
     
  14. Cryingmoose

    Newcomer Cryingmoose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    I just can't figure out why I got past King Moaman the one time,
    and now it won't work after a reset w/ the exact same settings
     
  15. Odanhammer
    OP

    Newcomer Odanhammer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Well i did exactly what Yaun said to do and it freezes at the first boss still.
    Using a phat PSP with the lastest firmware , latest pops and such.
    Tired using a few other things and same results.
    I dunno.
     
  16. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    I know how to fix it! Play it on the DS. Or you could try snes9xTYL and play the original.
     
  17. Cryingmoose

    Newcomer Cryingmoose Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Canada
    Chrono Cross, not Chrono Trigger
     
  18. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Radical Dreamers, not Chrono Trigger [​IMG]
     
  19. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Too bad =\. Even in 3.72 pops doesn't work?
     
  20. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Compatibility is dependent upon the applications used to rip the original disc and make the eboot. I'd suggest that you rip the original discs with Alcohol to ensure good image and then use single disc eboot's created with CDDA popstation.exe (v1.24). Yes it's command line and not a GUI but it should enable you to play fine on 3.90 pops as it has the best compatibility with eboot creation.
     

Share This Page