Changing video quality on youtube using Firefox 4RC

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by haddad, Mar 17, 2011.

Mar 17, 2011
  1. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Sometimes for me whenever I try to change from 360p to 480p or 720p, the picture freezes and the sound keeps going...

    Anyone else have this problem with Firefox 4?
     
  2. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Um no. Simply meaning:
    A) ur doing too much, turn off some programs if you have 'em running
    B) Firefox version?
    C) internet traffic is VERY high. When its a busy day at your provider, streaming will go slower too, due to outgoing data is slowed down.
    D) youtube is busy.
    E) ur video card sucks if it is none of the above. Happens alot, dont get me wrong or something, but HD is HD.
     
  3. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    a) I am not doing too much at all
    b) V4 RC
    c) Internet traffic should not matter, and my provider does not effect it, this only happened when I upgraded to Firefox V4 RC
    d) busy? lol....
    e) my video card does not suck, lol, I can support up to 1080p [​IMG]
     
  4. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hmm, strange. Lets see, with D) i meant that youtube is overflooding with people trying to watch video's [​IMG] its weird to see this, but perhaps it could be a simple error. Have you tried updating Flash Player? If that doesnt help, it could be a RC bug.
     
  5. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    I just tested this on FF4 RC and it doesn't happen (with the video I generally use for testing: (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QGJuMBdaqIw - Katy Perry's Firework, since it's 1080p HD - ignore the song).

    If this one gives you problems, then it's your PC. Keep in mind that I tested this on a Mac, so results may differ, but it shouldn't be giving you those problems. If it still doesn't work, try another browser like Google Chrome and report back.
     
  6. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    When I had Firefox V3.6 I had no problem, IE works no problem its just Firefox V4 RC
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Update your video drivers.
     
  8. haddad
    OP

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    K, I will look into that...

    --EDIT--

    Seemed to fix it for now [​IMG]
     

Share This Page