Hacking Changing banner on a disc

zidane_genome

My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?
OP
Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
2,320
Trophies
0
Age
41
Website
Visit site
XP
275
Country
United States
I'm creating a custom GH disc for my wife, and want to change the banner and save stuff so she can continue with her regular save file, plus to make it a true custom disc...

How do I go about changing the banners and such?

I have WADder if that helps, haha, so I can make a good banner in WAD format, maybe extract something and toss it on the disc via WiiScrubber?
 

Dack

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
601
Trophies
0
Location
UK
XP
98
Country
You also need to change a few other things to get the save working correctly. The GHOST application is a good start and I believe they should have the ability to change the TMD and Ticket (and hence the save game) in the next release.
 

zidane_genome

My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?
OP
Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
2,320
Trophies
0
Age
41
Website
Visit site
XP
275
Country
United States
I'm using TheGHOST to change the songs... but it doesn't change the banner/saves/id's...

That's why I wanted to know how to do it manually
 

Dack

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
601
Trophies
0
Location
UK
XP
98
Country
I've written a small app that allows you to do that but it's not been formally released yet.
 

sr_corsario

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
424
Trophies
1
Age
43
XP
1,053
Country
For banner/opening

Get working banner with wadder making a wad file
IMPORTANT the banner file (00000000.app) cant be bigger than 512kb
Extract the 00000000.app from wad file (with wadunpacker or any other tool like wwpacker pack)
Cut the first 64bytes with an hexeditor
Rename it to opening.bnr
Replace it on your iso with wiiscrubber
 

zidane_genome

My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?
OP
Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
2,320
Trophies
0
Age
41
Website
Visit site
XP
275
Country
United States
Not sure if I can actually ask for this, since it's just a sound sample, but does anyone know where I can get the GH sound file... and if I can't ask for that, how about something similar?

Note to Mods... there have been posts that link to a page with a bunch of Wii sounds (from WiiSports, and the Wii System Menu), so I'm pretty sure I can ask... if not, let me know, and I'll edit it... I'm not asking for discs, wads, or anything like that...
 

lolsjoel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2003
Messages
936
Trophies
0
Age
36
Website
www.0RANGECHiCKEN.co.nr
XP
381
Country
United States
zidane_genome said:
Not sure if I can actually ask for this, since it's just a sound sample, but does anyone know where I can get the GH sound file... and if I can't ask for that, how about something similar?Use your brain, homie. You've obviously got a GH3 ISO, so find the sound.bin in there. If you don't know how to find the sound.bin... well, good luck getting that banner worked out...

QUOTE(OSW @ Jan 7 2009, 04:11 AM) You can't banner brick from a DVD right? (because it doesn't write to nand?)
Right. No you can't, though you can freeze the Wii or cause it to give you error messages with a bad icon, but a simple reset and eject will fix that.
 

fiveighteen

Distractible Dabbler
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
1,768
Trophies
2
XP
1,902
Country
United States
zidane_genome said:
Not sure if I can actually ask for this, since it's just a sound sample, but does anyone know where I can get the GH sound file... and if I can't ask for that, how about something similar?
Unpack opening.bnr from your GH3 ISO. Sound.bin is in there.
 

zidane_genome

My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?
OP
Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
2,320
Trophies
0
Age
41
Website
Visit site
XP
275
Country
United States
loesjoel said:
zidane_genome said:
Not sure if I can actually ask for this, since it's just a sound sample, but does anyone know where I can get the GH sound file... and if I can't ask for that, how about something similar?
Use your brain, homie. You've obviously got a GH3 ISO, so find the sound.bin in there. If you don't know how to find the sound.bin... well, good luck getting that banner worked out...

Ok, bite me... I completely spaced on that one...

Getting BannerTools to rip the sound file to inject back into the project... thanks...
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Flame @ Flame: here comes Florida man!