change the iso, not change the loader....?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kanoeyes, Jan 9, 2009.

Jan 9, 2009
  1. kanoeyes
    OP

    Member kanoeyes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Portugal
    This is a question for coders...
    To read the gamecube games will instead of trying to change the loader, if try to modify the iso any way, would not be able to read these games (?), like as we do with the need for speed undercouver (and others).
     
  2. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    WiiGator Said the only thing keeping Gamecube games from running is that the dvd read commands for gamecube aren't correct. He has hacked the MIOS completely and that is not what is stopping GC backup from running. Until we come up with a way to translate the read commands used by GC disc to match what we use for wii backups we won't be able to have a GC backup loader. I keep hoping ppc_gba will show up and give us an update of how far he got with this, and if hes still even working on it. Also Linkinworm stated that the new multigame loader waninkoko is working on isn't CURRENTLY compatible with GC backups without a chip.... which leads me to believe wanin is working on this as we speak.
     
  3. kanoeyes
    OP

    Member kanoeyes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Portugal
    but what do you think, is this impossible?
     
  4. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    yes because it has nothing to do with the iso at the moment. all the patching of those games does if force the use of the custom ios. Once we can play GC backups via softmod we may have to patch to a version of MIOS but i doubt it.
     

Share This Page