CFG usb loader read error -2

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by apok1000, Apr 28, 2010.

Apr 28, 2010

CFG usb loader read error -2 by apok1000 at 4:55 PM (2,098 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. apok1000
    OP

    Newcomer apok1000 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey everyone, searched around the forums for info on this error but only found one unanswered thread.

    Basically when using cfg loader install function to backup my games from disc directly to hard drive im getting a

    Warning: read (xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx) error (-2)

    message. Its only happening to 2 of my games while the rest seem to work fine.

    The discs have a few scratches on them but nothing that seems too serious as the game are playable normally.

    I am also able to play the games after the install is finished and the error has come up and i have pressed A to continue.

    However i get the feeling that the games will freeze had certain points if they have not been read in correctly.


    Has anyone had this problem before and know the cause etc?

    Thanks
     
  2. graylow

    Newcomer graylow Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I am having the same problem while trying to transfer over Super Smash Bros Brawl. Maybe it's because it's duel-layered or maybe the beta cfg usb loader I'm using isn't stable. I'm currently using v57 b7. Any ideas?
     
  3. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    I would think the discs have issues. I have never seen any 'protection' on the discs, as the Wii itself has to be able to read the disks, so assume you have physical read issues, maybe your Wii Drive laser is getting down a tad?

    Try cleaning those dics a little harder =)
     
  4. graylow

    Newcomer graylow Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    The disk is barely even scratched and has worked before. I'm going to try to use a stable version and see if that fixes the problem.
     

Share This Page