Cartridge in top right on wii 64?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by KingsGambit, Dec 8, 2010.

Dec 8, 2010
  1. KingsGambit
    OP

    Newcomer KingsGambit Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Trying to load zelda OOT on wii64 and I just get a black screen with a cartridge in the top right corner this happens on both Pure Interp and Dynarec. I just added emulators to my Wii a few days ago so I'm new to this.
     
  2. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    if i remember correctly zelda oot required the expansion pack for the n64 console. i believe that games that require the expansion don't currently run on wii64. i could be wrong. it's been a while since i've messed around with wii64.
     
  3. DarkShinigami

    Member DarkShinigami #1 strongest Shinigami BANKAI

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,836
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Country:
    United States
    oot of time did not require the expansion pack on the other hand majoras mask did
     
  4. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Give it some time, it's loading the ROM into the memory. The Wii doesn't have enough RAM to hold games like OOT, so it has to load it on-demand.

    EDIT: Quick theory - Maybe the game tries to load the entire game into the N64 mem, so Wii64 can't handle it and crashes.
     
  5. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    oops. i got my zeldas mix up. here's the compatibility list and it looks like i was wrong either way. it says either zelda game should work just fine.

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Wii64_Compatibility_List
     
  6. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,352
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    you do realize you can get oot on vc and it will play properly?
     
  7. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    maybe they want the rumble feedback? are you loading from sd or usb though?
     
  8. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's what I did. Bought all N64 and NeoGeo games.
     
  9. KingsGambit
    OP

    Newcomer KingsGambit Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    SD
     

Share This Page