1. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    SWITCH INFO:
    Unpatched Switch | 7.0 sysNand | 8.1 emuMMC (64gb SD Sandisk)

    I managed to make an emuMMC correctly, use it and even install games and play on it. It lasted for about 24h since after that time I made a reboot, and now, it doesn't boot anymore. I can't make any conclusion of what could have caused it, because if I remembered correctly, after setting up the emuMMC (partition-based) I did all these things before the reboot I mentioned, and I don't remember if I rebooted between any of this things I've done.
    > emuMMC (partition-based) made correctly, even being able to boot (CFW emuMMC boot).
    (Everything from here done with the NRO of Goldleaf 0.5)
    >> Installed FE: Three Houses and played for a while.
    >> Updated FE: Three houses with its first patch and installed all of its available DLCs, and played for a while.
    After installing the DLCs, and trying to boot the game, even with the game updated to 1.0.1 (I think it is that version?), a message appeared in the SWITCH home menu saying that there are some DLCs I couldn't use at that time, but the game booted correctly and in the main menu the version 1.0.1 was displayed.
    >> Installed DQ Builders 2 and updated it.
    After trying to boot the game, a message saying "Checking if the software can be played", and after that, another one saying "You need to be connected to internet to perform the check), and thus, being unable to play.

    Then, if I remember correctly, I made the first reboot and after that, emuMMC couldn't boot. It shows until the SEPT screen, and then, it goes black screen right before showing the Atmosphere's logo.

    Does anybody know what I should do? Anyways, if I'm able to recover it, I will do another time the emuMMC because I have unlinked all my accounts doing a factory reset in the sysnand. What I really want to know is if there is a way to get my save files from the unbootable emuMMC so I can format my SD completely.

    Oh, by the way, everything seems to work perfectly but emuMMC, I can load Hekate, boot systand with and without CFW and can't boot emuMMC with and without CFW.

    I think that's all I could say.
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  2. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,913
    Country:
    United States
    Why not just use sysnand for CFW since you already tainted it.
     
  3. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    Because I want a clean sysnand with a dirty emuMMC. I don't want to do, nor will do anything "dirty" on my sysnand.
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  4. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,913
    Country:
    United States
    Did you use Fusee-primary or Hekate to load emummc?
     
  5. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    Yes, this is exaclty what I did:

    > Power on my switch. AutoRMC loaded (black screen). Inject "hekate_ctcaer_5.0.1_pre6" payload. Nyx shows on my switch screen. Launch icon. Second option "CFW (EMUNAND)".

    Then everything loads. AtlasNX, then SEPT, and after sept, nothing else happens, but a couple of hours ago (when emuMMC worked),, after the sept logo an atmosphere logo appeared, and now it doesn't. Only a black screen remain.
     
  6. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,913
    Country:
    United States
    You can mess around with the emunand config file see if you can get it to boot, if not you might have to create another one from scratch. You ever installed any custom theme?
     
    Last edited by Hayato213, Jul 26, 2019
  7. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    Okay, thank you very much, I will look into it. The problem is that I don't see why the emuMMC config should have been altered or something like that because I didn't modify anything. It worked the first time, and now, without an apparent reason, it doesn't.

    Anyways, thank you very much!
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  8. NoNAND

    NoNAND Give me back my legions!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,023
    Country:
    Albania
    Dang, I'm sorry to see about all that happen to your emuNAND.
    The only possible conclusion would have to be that the DQ Builders game could be the culprit behind all of this
    Get emuMMC config tool, disable your emuNAND and my guess would be to start all over back from square one again.
    Please refrain from installing that DQ builders 2 game to verify whether it's that game alone to blame for this or it might be something more farfetched.
    In case the problem still persists then consider testing your SD card for any possible errors.
    On a side note to your save files. alas there's no way of retrieving lost data from an emuNAND, as of yet so here's hoping there hasn't been much progress on those games.
     
    Last edited by NoNAND, Jul 26, 2019
    Enlapse likes this.
  9. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    That is wxactly my thought. That the DQB2 game, corrupted my emuMMC, and made it unable to be bootable. I will try to make a new one, but the only problem I have is the save games. Couldn't I get them from my SD? I mean, after all, the emuMMC is on my SD.

    Thank you very much!
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  10. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,913
    Country:
    United States
    Haha time for me to delete my copy, only heard about the huge memory leak problem.
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  11. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    I know this will be off topic, but what do you mean? Now I am curious.
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  12. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,913
    Country:
    United States
    Enlapse and NoNAND like this.
  13. NoNAND

    NoNAND Give me back my legions!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,023
    Country:
    Albania
    @Enlapse refer to that thread posted above for more info. i believe it stores more elaborate information to the answers you're seeking.
    So all in all it wasn't your fault in on your part. Seems like it that a bad save file corrupted your entire emuNAND.
     
  14. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    But I couldn't even boot DQB2 hahahaha! How hilarious. Anyways, couldn't I get my FE:TH save from the emuMMC/Nintendo/contents/saves/ folderr and just put it again in the same folder route in my new NAND? Wouldn't that work? I haven't made a huge progress, to be honest, but doing again the first battle simulacrum... Hahaha.

    Thank you very much for all of your help!
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  15. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,913
    Country:
    United States
    No, saves are encrypted, only decrypted saves can be transferred to another system/emulated nand etc.
     
  16. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    Oh, how unlucky. Okay, so the only way to get my save back would be to boot emuMMC and use a save editor or something like that, isn't it? And since I can't boot it, I am just screwed... Well, whatever, it could be worse!

    If that is it, then I think my problem is being solved. Kind of, at least, hahaha!

    So, thank you very much for all your help, and sorry for any trouble I may have caused you!
     
  17. NoNAND

    NoNAND Give me back my legions!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,023
    Country:
    Albania
    I think it would be best to discard that emuNAND and It's remains entirely in case something wrong could occur thereof.
    Likewise, doing a full format on FAT32 +32K cluster size is recommended but not necessary.
    If you haven't ventured that far into the game then simply start all over again. I know right I can be repetitive and a bore to do so but do it.

    I'm glad I could help :)
     
  18. Enlapse

    OP Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    Yeah, yeah, I am sorry to make you repeat yourself, but I only wanted to be 100% sure. Don't worry, everything is OK, and now that I know everything I needed to know, then the thread is over, I guess.

    Thank you mate, for real, very much!
     
    NoNAND likes this.
  19. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,913
    Country:
    United States
    Probably just rebuild the NAND if you don't have a lot of stuff on it.
     
    NoNAND likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emuMMC,