1. fossda

    OP fossda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    Whenever I turn on my 250GB Slim PS3, it comes up with the error 'the file system is corrupted and must be restored.'. When I start it up in safe mode, whenever I choose an option it just freezes! Please help!
     
  2. Ryupower

    Ryupower Brood
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,971
    Country:
    United States
    what fw do you have
     
  3. fossda

    OP fossda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    The latest one, I think. I haven't installed cfw or anything like that
     
  4. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25,775
    Country:
    Poland
    First of all, note down the state of your PS3's status LED's. You can find a guide on how to decypher them and what to do in given situations here. As it stands it could be a number of things - the HDD might be failing, the PS3 might be overheating or you're experiencing some form of hardware damage. From the symptoms I'd say it's the HDD, but do tell what your status LED's indicate.
     
  5. fossda

    OP fossda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    In standby mode, it's solid red. After I turn it on, either normally or in safe mode, it's solid green. The status LEDs are just normal.
     
  6. Ozito

    Ozito Who you gonna call?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    Country:
    Sweden
    Did you do a firmware update prior to the error screen?

    Someone in a another forum had the same problem, he fixed it by doing what this member advised him to do.
    What he said, hope it helps! ;)
     
  7. fossda

    OP fossda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    I try to format the hdd, but when I select the option in safe mode, or any option in safe mode, the whole thing just freezes. It started freezing like this after I downloaded the latest PS3 firmware from the Playstation website to a usb stick, and put it in my PS3, before starting it up in safe mode, and selected the option to update from a usb stick. Before I did this, my PS3 didn't freeze when I selected an option, but just took forever to restore the system (I waited for over 24 hours).
     
  8. Ozito

    Ozito Who you gonna call?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    Country:
    Sweden
    Did you try with another HDD?
    When it freezes, does it freeze at the options or does it freeze after entering the chosen option?
     
  9. fossda

    OP fossda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    It froze after pressing X to choose an option, still showing the menu, but dw it's fixed now :D
     
  10. Ozito

    Ozito Who you gonna call?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    Country:
    Sweden
    Great! How did you fix it?
    It would be nice to know, for those in the same situation and for future reference.
     
  11. fossda

    OP fossda GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    I just started it up normally, not in safe mode, and it came up with the initial setup (usually it repeats the file system has been corrupted error in a loop). I reentered the time and date, and reentered my wifi settings, and it went to the XMB menu.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - properly,