1. Burrbands

    OP Burrbands Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    So I've been modding my switch for awhile now and know how to enter rcm mode via my paper clip jig. But recently when trying to get back into modding my switch, it hasn't worked even though I checked every time if the ends are touching pins 1 and 10. Could my pins be broken? Or should I just buy a jig off amazon?
     
  2. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,000
    Country:
    Germany
    Maybe yes. My paperclip doesn't worked everytime in the past. If the method with the pins doesn't work, unclip carefully the emmc chip. This triggers also the rcm.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  3. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    1,158
    Country:
    United States
    You probably damaged your switch using a paperclip you should have bought a jig.
     
  4. Burrbands

    OP Burrbands Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I got into rcm mode, I think I didn't have the paper clip all the way down. Either way I had to make another paper clip for it to even boot into rcm.
     
  5. Dust2dust

    Dust2dust GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,416
    Country:
    Canada
    A paperclip is only supposed to be used once. Then you install autoRCM. Besides, $4-5 to get a proper jig is not such a big investment, you know. You risk damaging your Switch everytime you use a paperclip.
    P.S. Get a RCM Loader One dongle, it comes with a proper jig included.
     
    Hayato213 likes this.
  6. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,022
    Country:
    United States
    Invest in a good jig like the one from RCM Loader Dongle like Dust2dust suggested.
     
    Dust2dust likes this.
  7. kylum

    kylum GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Country:
    United States
    Go to a maker shop and have them 3D print one for you. That’s what I did when I got started. It was so small they didn’t even charge me.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted