Cannot install CFW on PSP 2000 (probably) due to stuck button

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by tmujir955, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. tmujir955
    OP

    Newcomer tmujir955 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Hello,


    My friend's PSP has had an issue for a while: when you press the HOME button from a game, you cannot move the cursor to the 'Yes' option. I tried to fix it by opening up the PSP and blowing the excess dust out but it didn't work. Also, if you open the menu for typing something (like your nickname) the cursor rapidly shifts from letter to letter.

    My friend recently asked me to install CFW on his PSP, so I downgraded to 6.20 from 6.39 and tried to install 6.20 PRO-B9. However I ran into a problem.

    When I install the temporary CFW, all the buttons stop working and I cannot install the permanent CFW.

    I noticed that when I hibernate it and turn it back on in CFW, the VSH menu shows up. I read this: http://forums.pspslimhacks.com/threads/psp-1003-not-responding-while-in-cfw-ofw-works-fine.11103/

    I believe that my SELECT button is somehow stuck, because the VSH keeps showing up, when no other buttons are being pressed.

    I need to know how to do one of the following on OFW (because effectively I cannot install CFW while I have this issue):

    1) Disable my SELECT button (or possibly other buttons).
    2) Disable the VSH menu for CFW.

    The Recovery menu cannot be accessed, because the CFW is temporary.

    Thank you for your time, hopefully you guys can help me out.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Take it apart and remove the bar that has the start/select buttons? On the 2K it's attached to the faceplate. There you can either leave it off until you get some plugin that disables start, or try to fix the issue.
     
  3. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    If he has the capacity to use temporary CFW, he has the capacity to use RemoteJoy.

    Install the plugin and enable it by default. The moment you start temporary CFW, you should be able to connect your PSP to a PC and use the keyboard instead of the on-PSP buttons. From there, install the perm CFW and use a plugin to block SELECT input.

    That, or skip the RemoteJoy procedure and look for a plugin to block SELECT on the machine itself. You can launch plugins on Temp CFW normally.
     
  4. tmujir955
    OP

    Newcomer tmujir955 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds promising. I'll try that tomorrow.

    How can I install plugins without CFW? And do you know where I might find a plugin that blocks input?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Plugins are set up on the memory stick and CFW reads the data on the stick to know what plugins to use (and to grab the plugin files).

    As for a plugin to block input, I don't know.
     
  6. tmujir955
    OP

    Newcomer tmujir955 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    One last question - can I access the Recovery menu to disable the VSH menu through RemoteJoy? I'm afraid of permanently installing the CFW and finding that I can't use any buttons at all.

    Thanks.
     
  7. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    You can Remap all your buttons using a plugin called MacroFire - it has a separate file called macrofire.ini where you can remap buttons manually and worry about them later. Simply remap the SELECT button to one button that you don't usually use, like the Note button, or even a combinationof buttons and leave it there.

    Once you've done that, put it in the seplugins folder on your Memory Stick and enable it in VSH.txt to make sure that it's enabled by default in the VSH menu. Now, each time you turn on the PSP, the SELECT button will be remapped on-boot. If you want, you can also remap during GAME and POPS modes by adding the enabling line to those too. The line should look like this:

    Code:
    ms0:/seplugins/macrofire.prx 1
    
    Put this line in the corresponding txt files and you're set. If there is no seplugins folder on your Memory Stick or if it does not contain any txt files, you are free to create them yourself.

    The button remapping is a simple process, plus the program has examples of various types of remaps, so it should be smooth cruising from there.


    An example Remap looks like this:

    Code:
    [Remap1]
    RealButtons = SELECT
    RemapButtons = NOTE
     
  8. tmujir955
    OP

    Newcomer tmujir955 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Tried to do this... unfortunately, the PSP now fails to reboot after installing the temporary CFW. Just has a black screen for a few moments before shutting itself off. When the plugin is disabled from VSH.txt the PSP reboots fine but the buttons don't respond. When the plugin is enabled the PSP doesn't reboot at all.

    Stuck between a rock and a hard place...

    Thanks for taking the time to write out your detailed guide. Any ideas as to whats causing the black screen issue?
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    With the 6.20 perm-patch Select is used to change between OFW and CFW mode, so either remove the perm-patch, or try 6.60 PRO-C.
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Depends on the PSP version. On more recent generations of the console it's actually HOME.

    I'm sad to hear that MacroFire did not help - unfortunately without full diagnostics I am unable to determine the cause of this weird behaviour. I doubt that it's a matter of just buttons - they appear to act differently between OFW and CFW, thus it leads me to believe that it might be a firmware issue.

    Before we proceed, I'd like to get some additional information about your machine.

    1. What is the exact model of the PSP?
    2. If it is a PSP-2000, what is its Data Code? The Data Code can be found under the battery - it's a one digit and one letter code.
    3. How did you Downgrade the PSP? Did you use a Pandora? Did you follow any guide? If so, what guide was it?
    4. Why are you installing Pro B9? You should install either Pro B10fix1 or simply switch to Pro C.
    5. What version of MacroFire did you use? Was it compatible with 6.20 Pro Firmware?
    6. Did you attempt doing the exact same thing, just with RemoteJoy?
    7. What's the brand, capacity and type of your Memory Stick?

    I think that it's not a hardware issue at all - I think that something went wrong during the Downgrade process. Unlike with other handhelds, the PSP has software key binds. If an error occured during the process, the binds might've become corrupt.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't 6.20's Select and 6.60's Home? Since they patch different ways (6.20 patches VSH, 6.60 patches the CIPL) and thus the key is read at different times.
     
  12. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I'm not entirely sure, never tested it since I switched to 6.60+. This is also why I want to determine if he needs the PERM patch or not - he might have a PSP that's IPL-exploitable. :)
     

Share This Page