Can the Wii play foreign GameCube games or a GameCube Emulator?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by TeeR, Sep 28, 2012.

  1. TeeR
    OP

    Member TeeR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm just curious about the latter and want to play Dr. Mario/Yoshi's Cookie/Panel De Pon.
     
  2. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    yeh Wii's can do multi-region if hacked. Dolphin can play all regions too
     
  3. TeeR
    OP

    Member TeeR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Define Multi-Region if hacked. Does that mean I have to get some certain app on the Homebrew channel? Or do I go to that menu when you softmod it?
     
  4. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,345
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Homebrew channel, Priiloader, all need to be installed to bypass the lock.
     
  5. SickPuppy

    Member SickPuppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Country:
    United States

    I challenge that, priiloader don't NEED to be installed to play out of region GC games, although it is a good idea to have priiloader installed for other purposes.
     
  6. LightyKD

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I thought that a cMIOS is all that's needed to handle multi region GameCube games.
     
  7. TeeR
    OP

    Member TeeR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well since I can do that, which games (Wii, Gameboy, Gameboy Advance, GameCube) do you recommend to be imported to Europe? So far I'd like
    -Nintendo Puzzle Collection
    -Kirby Dream Collection (if they don't release it here)
     
  8. Clarky

    Member Clarky Don't you know who I think I am?

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,960
    Country:
    United States
    Wii-Excitbots, Fatal Frame 4
     
  9. TeeR
    OP

    Member TeeR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I installed A cMIOS through a certain IOS (236) but not through the method that doesn't use an IOS. In the reset menu (PriiLoader) I've chosen I think all the Region Free options. Is that enough?
     
  10. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    You don't even need priiloader or a cmios, just run GCBooter from HBC to start whatever game is in the drive.
     
  11. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Well Nintendo Puzzle Collection has that familiar text issue in Yoshi's Cookie unless run under actual Japanese mode.

    I'm not sure off-hand the easy way to fix that on Wii. (American Gamecubes could have a JP BIOS switch installed)
     

Share This Page