Can I play LoZ: ST on the original R4 (kernel 1.18)?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by drummy, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. drummy
    OP

    Newcomer drummy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Hey guys. I tried searching for this, but it turns out "R4" is too short to search for. So I have 1.18 and I want to play this game. And before you ask why I don't get YSMenu, I tried installing it once and I lost a buttload of saves after it froze my R4 and permanently rendered my MicroSD card unreadable (didn't think that would happen, so I didn't backup my saves). So I am a bit weary of YSMenu, and I don't want to risk buying a new MicroSD card. Is there any possible I can play this game on an R4 v.1.18?
     
  2. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    No....your only hope is to install YSMenu (I know this is so, as I have had it running). R4 cannot read 1MB save files.
     
  3. _Burai_

    Member _Burai_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    Switzerland
    hmmmm I have exactly the same settings for my R4 But the game works perfectly fine after I patched it because of AP.
     
  4. drummy
    OP

    Newcomer drummy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Korea, South
    What's AP?
     
  5. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes, but the game must be patched,

    AP = anti piracy
     
  6. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You also need a 1MB save file.

    YSMenu is perfectly safe and stable. Whatever caused your problem was user error of some kind, not YSMenu itself.
     
  7. drummy
    OP

    Newcomer drummy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I patched it with the Xenophobia crack, turned off soft reset, and it boots! Thanks.
     
  8. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Im using an original r4 with an older version of YSmenu on it and it loads the game just fine, and it uses the .sav file it created just fine (dunno what these guys are talkin about 1mb save mumbo jumbo).

    Just got the 4th train car in the Fire land from the gorons.
     
  9. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States

    I think theres a chance your sav will be deleted if your not using the 1mb sav file floating around this forum.....
     
  10. ThetaSigma10

    Member ThetaSigma10 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    no it works fine, just patch it with the xenophobia patch, load it up in 1.18, turn off soft reset, and it works. well thats what i had anyway.
     
  11. drummy
    OP

    Newcomer drummy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I did the exact same thing, turned off my DS, and fired up Zelda again, and my save is still there.
     
  12. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe if I make a save on the bottom slot? I dont know. Ive been playing the game for over a week so I'm not too worried.
     
  13. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    YSMenu is the best option to use.
     

Share This Page