Can I inject SRT files in AVI files?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Langin, Mar 1, 2013.

Mar 1, 2013
  1. Langin
    OP

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    First, yes I did some research an I came into many viruses and shit, so I decided to ask here instead. But on topic, I am currently watching a korean drama series, I miss you. I got all episodes and all subtitle files. But I am annoyed that I can't really watch this on my phone with subs.(Am I doing something wrong there maybe?(Android 4.1.2 Galaxy SIII)) But per episode I have an 'AVI' and a 'SRT' file. The Avi is the episode itself, the movie file and the SRT is the subtitle file.(I checked it with notepad.) I use VLC media player to open my avi files and then within the subtitle option I need to open up the SRT file. But is there a way to inject the SRT file into my avi file so that I have the subtitles with having to open the SRT file?(And so I can watch this on my phone on the right way.)

    I also have another question, when I open up my avi files in Windows media Player, it plays it like it is an MP3 file or so, it does not show the movie, only the sound can be heard. T_T

    Thanks

    Yura
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Unless you're using a fancy android player on your phone (dice, etc.), chances are it doesn't support subtitles at all, embedded or not.

    What you'll want to do is "hardcode" the subs. That is, actually write them into the video data itself so they'll display on everything (since they're part of the video itself now).

    I don't know any sub hardcoding softwares off the top of my head though.
     
    porkiewpyne and Langin like this.
  3. DCG

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Isn't handbrake capable of that?
    I just looked and it has a option to "burn in" subtitles, didn't try it yet though :/
     
    Rydian likes this.
  4. Langin
    OP

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'll go and give Dice Player a shot. Thanks Rydian!

    Handbrake? Let me Google that!
     
  5. soulrazor

    Member soulrazor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    Portugal
  6. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Windows Media Player is like the Internet Explorer of media players. The problem is probably caused by unsupported codecs. The answer is to install a codec pack such as CCCP or KLite then use MPHC as the player. Or just stick to using VLC as you already can see that it works.
     
    raulpica and porkiewpyne like this.
  7. porkiewpyne

    Member porkiewpyne Report-er

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,941
    Country:
    Australia
    If you want to watch it on your phone, I suppose the best way would be to hardsub the subtitles using VirtualDub. Important note though, once you hardsub, I am pretty sure the subs will be "stuck" in the video permanently and cannot be undone.
     
  8. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Just use a better mediaplayer on your Android device? Lots that support .srts come to mind, like MX Player or Rock Player. I use MX Player on my tablet myself and it works really good.

    As for the Windows Media Player thing, it's just like Depravo said. Missing codecs. Don't bother with CCCP though since it's horribly outdated.

    Go for K-Lite: http://codecguide.com/download_kl.htm
     
    porkiewpyne likes this.
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If he can use something like Dice on his phone, it has the option to pull in subtitle files. Other players likely do as well.

    Just not familiar with other players or sure of how capable his phone is, thus the hardcoding suggestion if needed.

    And yeah hardsubbing is permanent.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Actually it updated just before christmas.

    But it also removed ffdshow's VFW encoders and crap, so I'm still looking for a replacement... might make a thread about it.
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Oh cool. Well, K-Lite still sports some VFW support in the Mega pack, iirc.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Says it does, but doesn't anymore either. :(

    Then again the word "codec" has come to just mean "decoder" so I shouldn;'t be surprised that all the big packs are dropping the encoders... but it makes installing them annoying.
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Well, I'm sure you did but... you tried a Custom install? I can remember you could select some VFW stuff if you went for a Custom install. But they probably were only decoders :unsure:
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah all the custom options are for decoders. FFDshow is installed in the VFW system if I check it, but K-lite no longer installer the encoders.

    I'm dealing without for now, as most of the technical work I want is done acceptably in VirtualDub, and when I need to compress something hard for uploading, Handbrake is there with drag-drop h.264 and a CRF slider.
     
  15. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Better yet, use mmg of mkvmerge to remux avi and srt into mkv files.
     
    porkiewpyne likes this.
  16. Etkar.H

    Member Etkar.H GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Norway
    I use Any Video Converter to hardcode the subtitles while also formatting the video format to MP4 to be able to watch it on my iPhone. :D Works pretty good.
     
  17. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    I know people that use MoboPlayer (which has wide video support, and .SRT+.ASS+.SAA subtitle support). You could give that a try.
     

Share This Page