ROM Hack can I create nds hack rom with swapped screen?

LukeDep

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 27, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
11
Country
Italy
Hi everyone,
I just want to know if there is a way to create a nds hack rom with swapped screen, or just with double upper screen.


I have a nintendo ds lite converted into gameboy macro with a very old wood r4, and I found a way to play gba, gb, snes and nes emulators with that.
There are tons of games that just require only one screen, but most of the times is the upper one.

On 3ds and dsi there are some ways with Twilightmenu, but with ds lite it doesn't work because of the amr7 system. Also cheat codes doesn't work.

I know that it's stupid to find a way to play ds games on gameboy macro, because there are tons of other simpler ways and gameboy macro is for gameboy games.
But I think it could be cool to play games such as Mario Kart ds, Super Mario ds or Super Mario Bros, like Animal Crossing which is well playable with only bottom screen.
Also it could be cool to create games for Gameboy Macro,( like "Mario Kart Macro").

I want to know if there are programs that allows me to modify a nds rom in this way.

Thanks anyway,
LD
 

Mazamin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2014
Messages
1,872
Trophies
0
XP
2,290
Country
Italy
Hi Luke, I think it's doable, but the question is: is it worth it? No one is going to develop games for Gameboy Macro, yet alone for free, maybe you can do it yourself, but there's no easy way
 
  • Like
Reactions: Shadow#1

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
33,887
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
22,639
Country
United Kingdom
There was also a fairly simple hardware mod you could do
https://gbatemp.net/threads/ds-phat-screen-swap-physical-switch-top-screen-kept.542995/

Anyway you can do it in software, as mentioned above cracker made a cheat for it that works in hardware (the non working cheat might have been the earlier emulator only stuff I experimented with, go later in that thread to find the working offering) and that can be hardpatched in with something like DSATM (or cheats in general).

I doubt you are going to get a generic adder/creator like we might get for soft reset, backlight and cheats and you will have to find an individual way for individual games. Not the hardest thing as a hacker, and if you can understand what was done (short version is you need to whisper enough sweet nothings to http://problemkaputt.de/gbatek.htm#dspowercontrol in whatever game to do it) you can probably recreate it for your chosen game quickly enough.
Some will inevitably be harder -- compression, obfuscation, lack of injection points, the individual game overriding the dspowercontrol thing for its own purposes... but those might even amount to the exception.
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

LukeDep

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 27, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
11
Country
Italy
I saw that the hardware mod can't be easily made in ds lite, because of the higer number of circuits that need to be changed.

I also have already tried to use the DSATM cheat patcher program made by Cracker , but when I try to patch the rom with the same codes you sent in an older thread, which worked on Desmume, the patcher stops working and crashes. I tried with mario kart ds, with the codes 14000304 00000FFF. I obtained the same result with another computer.

I have't already understood how to use the ds power control code, but I stopped following that way when I read that is only for arm9.
 

LukeDep

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 27, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
11
Country
Italy
Another problem when I use the DSATM tool is that it doesn't allow me to copy and paste a code into it or to copy it from the clipboar or from the text file, I don't know why. It crashes when I try to load the usrcheat.dat file created with r4cce.
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
10,502
Trophies
1
XP
6,072
Country
United States
Another problem when I use the DSATM tool is that it doesn't allow me to copy and paste a code into it or to copy it from the clipboar or from the text file, I don't know why. It crashes when I try to load the usrcheat.dat file created with r4cce.
It's to big takes up alot of ram
 

LukeDep

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 27, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
11
Country
Italy
Ok I finally found an easy solution! I created an usrcheat file with another code that allows me to swap screen in mario kart ds when I press start+select.

The code is:
D3000000 023FF244
94000130 FFF30000
D4000000 00000001
D0000000 00000000
D6000000 00000000
523FF244 00000001
523FF248 00000000
DC000000 FFFFFFF8
D4000000 00007FFF
D6000000 00000000
D9000000 00000000
D6000000 00000000
D0000000 00000000
D0000000 00000000
D6000000 00000000
D3000000 00000000
94000130 FFF30000
0200FD04 EA0FBD3D
623FF200 E92D5FFF
D3000000 023FF200
E0000000 00000040
E92D5FFF E59F2024
E59F3024 E5931000
E5920000 E0201001
E0200000 E5820000
E5831000 E8BD5FFF
E3A00000 E59FF004
023FF240 04000304
0200FD08 00000000
D2000000 00000000

and it works only on circuits

I thought the high ram requied couldn't allow me to use it in ds lite, but I was wrong.

It would be great to find codes like that for other games, but for now it's enough.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Macintosh is for communists!!!!