Gaming Buying a new laptop!

raing3

CNET_Richard
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
To add to the bajillion other topics where members seek the opinions of other members before dropping money on some expensive piece of computer hardware...

I've been considering buying a computer for almost a year now but have continued to put it off due to lack of money, or more recently not being able to commit to a specific laptop. I now have a decent amount of money put away for a new laptop and I figure I should buy one ASAP as I am seeing it slowly disappearing on garbage I probably don't really need. :P

The system I am upgrading from is a HP Pavilion dv5-1139tx which I have been using for the past 4 years, apart from its dead battery, broken DVD drive and slightly disgusting exterior there is nothing drastically wrong with it. It does everything I currently need but my desire to buy a new laptop has been slowly compounding.

Below is a list of the primary requirements I need from a laptop, my current system specifications, the specifications of the systems I am looking at and lastly a few questions/concerns I have before I decide to make a purchase.

Primary usages:
  • Software development (mostly PHP + probably ASP/C# in the near future, need to be able to fit as much on screen as possible for this).
  • Browsing the web.
  • Possibly gaming.
Current System Specs:
  • Intel Core 2 Duo CPU T9400 2.53 GHz
  • 4.00GB DDR2 RAM
  • 32-bit Windows 7
  • 512MB GeForce 9600M GT
  • 400GB Hard Drive
  • 4x USB 2.0 Ports
  • 15.6" screen (1280 x 800)
Potential System Specs:

ASUS R701VM:
  • Intel Core i7 3610QM 2.3 GHz (3rd generation)
  • 16GB DDR3 RAM
  • 64-bit Windows 7
  • 2GB GeForce GT630M DDR3
  • 2TB Hard Drive
  • 4x USB 3.0 Ports
  • 17.3" screen (1600 x 900)
  • 802.11n + Intel Wireless Display support
  • $1,499 (Digital Star)
Samsung 700G7A
  • Intel Core i7 2670GM 2.2 GHz (2nd generation)
  • 16GB DDR3 RAM
  • 64-bit Windows 7
  • 2GB AMD Radeon 6970M DDR5
  • 2TB Hard Drive