BSNES v087 Co-Processor Project

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Mar 7, 2012.

Mar 7, 2012
  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [​IMG]


    BSNES has always reached for a near perfect experience, thanks to its low-level approach to the entire aspect of emulation. The project has also aimed to support all of the co-processor games. As of today, the final co-processor is now supported (ST018). BSNES is now the only SNES EMU to support a 100% compatibility of all known officially released games, and it accomplishes this without any hacks!

    The source news thread has a reply which links back to the ROM files, and thus we can not link to it here. Google is your friend!



    Thanks to prowler for the USN!​

    [​IMG] BSNES Homepage
     
    2 people like this.


  2. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    pity this wasn't ported to the wii although it prob wouldn't be able to run it properly :P
     
  3. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    It'd be pretty cool - If BSNES was open source. I think it is, but I wouldn't have the brains to port such a program.
     
  4. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    It is open source.
    A simple glance at the website in the OP tells that.
     
  5. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    Yeah. Noticed that after I went and checked out the download page.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Wii's not nearly powerful enough.
     
  7. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,326
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    For the performance core, maybe, but accuracy, impossible.
     
  8. Covarr

    Member Covarr Sentient Cash Register

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Far East of Eden
    Country:
    United States
    The same low-level style of emulation that makes genuinely perfect accuracy possible also bumps up the requirements pretty significantly. No chance it'll ever get ported to Wii, and very slim chance it'll get ported to PS3 if someone wants to go to the effort of threading the whole thing.
     
  9. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,492
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    That's why I am so loving this emulator. :)
     
  10. MMX

    Newcomer MMX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Germany
    How accurate is nintendos effort with the VC titles?
    yknow in comparison
     
  11. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,326
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    They're fairly accurate, but nowhere near the level of Bsnes. Probably on par with Snes9x 1.53 I'd say.
     
  12. ShinyLatios

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So... Now SNES has become 100% accurate?
    thats cool :D

    now lets hope the dev goes ahead and makes a perfect N64 emu :)
     
  13. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    N64 emulation is a bit of a pain, I've heard. Nothing's quite the same when it comes to emulating its individual games.

    Absolutely great news about BSNES hitting 100% compatibility, hoorahs are in order!
    As for BSNES being available on any system like a Wii, forget it man that takes a lot more power, since most other emulators are High-level emulators, whilst BSNES is Low-level meaning it emulates the system hardware itself and not the expected responses.
     
  14. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,326
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I just think it's downright pathetic seeing so many "enlightening" comments about Bsnes on EmuCR. It isn't THAT bad, I can run it just fine on my older Core 2 Duo E8400...I fail to see why so many jerks are complaining about it.
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    'Cause people are used to being able to pirate SNES games on a 400mhz machine.
     
  16. Javacat

    Member Javacat GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I was reading the release thread for this on the BSNES forum and someone posted a link to some DSP ROMs for this version of BSNES. Whats this for? Do these co-processors need dumping seperately to the game ROMs (more like a MAME ROM?)?
     
  17. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,326
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Yep. They're required to run games with special chips, now that the SuperFX, SA-1, S-DD1, Cx4, etc use low-level emulation. I thought distributing those files was "illegal", but what do I care? I don't agree with having to get them for those ROMs....whatever.
     
  18. MasterPenguin

    Member MasterPenguin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    Canada
    I just got a new PC, Intel Core i7 2670 @ 2.2GHz, and a GeForce GTX 560. Loaded up Donkey Kong.

    Stutters like no tomorrow.

    And that's why I'm not a fan.
     
  19. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,326
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    Oh, you mean those punks on EmuCR who rip Byuu to shreds?
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on a Core-architecture machine and BSNES runs normal games fine for me... on the compatibility profile, not the accuracy one.

    Never seen that kinda' stuff. Any time people would rag on an emulator author for his ideals is a time when shitheads roam free and I'd rather stay out of that.

    I was mainly referring to how you could run ZSNES on older machines. I used the DOS version on my 98SE machine with a 400mhz processor for the longest time.
     

Share This Page