BRICKED....

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by jojoj, Nov 14, 2009.

Nov 14, 2009

BRICKED.... by jojoj at 10:24 PM (3,848 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. jojoj
    OP

    Newcomer jojoj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    ok so 2day i updated to moonshell 2.07 and to my surprise when i tried to startup my acekard it was bricked....

    has this happened to anyone? else besides me or did i just win the crap lottery??? [​IMG]
     


  2. TankTan38

    Newcomer TankTan38 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    DING DING DING!!!
    Looks like you have just won the "Crap Lottery"!!!!

    Seriouly though, I don't know how Moonshell could brick your AK if it hadn't even been ran yet.
     
  3. Velveteer

    Member Velveteer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Australia
    It wouldn't have anything to do with Moonshell. You'd need to give everyone a little more info than you have if you want it fixed.
     
  4. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    that's what you get for using a cheap card.... should've went with m3 or cyclo
     
  5. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    So what defines cheap to you rich guy. Acekard is the best basic card with akaio.
     
  6. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Actually that is why Acekard wins,it is cheap,and best. Wii connectivity is all I need to say,real time saves is for cheaters who cant beat a game being fair. Anyways m3 and cyclo are a good card but Acekard is the best.
     
  7. Velveteer

    Member Velveteer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Australia
    Given the way the OP explained their problem, I wouldn't be surprised if it's just a MicroSD issue. I don't see the point in debating which flashcard is superior...

    Are you actually getting to the "Loading" Screen? Because that would mean that the card is actually booting. Pull the SD Card out, blow any dust off it, and put it back in and try to boot. Then, if you don't have any luck, backup your games and whatnot, then format the card with the Panasonic SD Formatter. Next, copy the games back on - as well as the newest version of whatever firmware you were using.
     
  8. Alter

    Member Alter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Point "blank", on your "six".
    Country:
    United States
    I've had a lot of problems with MS2 myself. When I was using the old DSTT (not DSTTi), I'd often have to back it all up and format it when a new MS2 version came out. After I had added it, I was unable to run any of my ROMS or Homebrew games.
     
  9. House Spider

    Banned House Spider In the GBAtemp attic.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    Dundalk
    Country:
    Ireland
    -1

    DS-Xteme, R4, Acekard cheap?
     
  10. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    hmmmm pretty funny how you took my quote and changed it...nice to know we're dealing with such mature people here! Anyways, AK2 isn't the best there is, if that were true than everyone would buy only acekard. It's the best card you can get for less than $20 but you can get an m3real for only a few dollars more and it is a better card with sakura,touchpod and itouch firmwares...all of which are updated on a regular basis.
     
  11. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i`m have Acekard 2.i (Akaio 1.5) Whit moonshell 2.06 used all moonschell things and never get an Brick and yes it`s a good flashcard
    But i going to buy Supercard DSTWO
    because it support GBA games and also snes [​IMG]
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=192112
     
  12. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With all due respect you were the one who said "that's what you get for using a cheap card.... should've went with m3 or cyclo," without giving a answer that would help the OP.

    cause I'm bored, I'll disagree with you [​IMG]

    It actuaally isn't all that much better. Sakura has pathetic homebrew compatability, I know there's DSkiosk but that doesn't cover a shortfall, that you're forced to use an alternative homebrew loader. The Touchpod and Itouch firmwares don't come across as being friendly GUIs particulary in the case of touchpod. And only the minority use the latter firmwares. In addition M3 arn't that friendly to third party sources like Rudolph and when PSZ was dumped it was only teh M3 cards that couldn't get it running.

    To the OP: I've nver had a problem with moonshell. So try formatting your MSD.
     
  13. ericling

    Member ericling GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Huh?? Moonshell can brick your card? This is the first time I heard ..

    How your acekard brick?DS cant recognize it?or stuck in loading or what?
     
  14. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    The OP has to be mistaken. Moonshell can't brick Acekards. Acekards frequently fail all the time. Most of them have a fairly short lifespan.
     
  15. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Since you have so much to say...why is it that most ak users use akaio instead of the default firmware??? hmm maybe because the default one stinks! And what is so "user unfriendly" about touchpod? the fact that touchscreen controls stink on the menu's? I'd hardly call that being "user unfriendly"...so what was so hard about using touchpod? Oh wait let me ask you this "have you even used touchpod or an M3 card for that matter"?
     
  16. heartgold

    Member heartgold GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Acekard wins for me - AP protection covered by AKAIO quicker than any other flashcart and has the best support for games, what else do I need when I'm not paying much for the product unlike expensive ones out there that basically do the same job? ;] Tell me how do the other flashcarts standout from the acekard? real time save? lmao
     
  17. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK then.

    There's no point going on about the AKAIO and offical firmware becasue everyone knows AKAIO is far superoir. I wouldn't have bought an AK2 if it wasn't for AKAIO. In the summer I looking to get a new flashcart and the M3 Real was one of the cards I was looking at looking at reviews, touchpod looked unresponsive whilst I was attracted to AKAIO being fast as sin.

    I'm not saying the M3 is a bad cart, I'd say its a good cart and the M3 team are really rasing thier game but it had flaws. Most people use Sakura but it's homebrew compatability is pretty bad. I have about twenty homebrew gams and apps on my cart, so it made sense to get a cart with competent homebrew compatability and it can't play DPG 4 becasue of the Moonshell fiasco.

    In my persoanl situation the AK2 just seemed the best cart for my needs.
     
  18. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Uhh, the M3 isn't much better quality than the Acekard. If at all.

    The Acekard has a 1 year warranty, just get another if it has stopped working.
     
  19. Retrievil

    Member Retrievil GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Generally, you can buy 2 or 3 acekard 2is for what one M3 costs.

    M3 team can go fuck themselves. I've had 2 M3 cards. One slot2 and the first slot1 they made. Are they supported still? No they are not. M3 makes you go buy a new card instead of supporting the ones they already sold you.

    That is why AKAIO is so awesome. Acekard could fall off the planet, get sued by Nintendo, whatever it doesn't matter. AKAIO would still be updating my existing card to play new games and add new functions. If M3 Team dies, the source dies with them.

    The fact that those of us who have AK2is are always playing unpatched roms well before anybody else, is just the icing on the cake. Zelda:ST, M&L BIS, all working first unpatched, thanks to normatt and AKAIO.
     
  20. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Couldnt be bothered reading through the previous pages, but to my knowledge moonshell DOES have the tendancy to corrupt Micro SD's.

    Have you tried another Micro SD?
     

Share This Page