Bricked wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wayne foster, Mar 25, 2013.

Mar 25, 2013

Bricked wii by wayne foster at 3:59 PM (1,296 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    Hi. I think I completely bricked my wii but not sure. I had homebrew installed and bootmii and some other things had just updated those and tried installing ios's so I could use the usb loader which didn't work some stuff I tried to install it froze or didn't like my wii remote cause it wouldn't let me move. I had 4.3u installed and downgraded the system to 4.1u or tried (thats when it bricked) and I got a blank screen and thats all I get. when bootmii did work when it was loaded with homebrew it was one of those that either froze or didn't like the remote. can anyone please help me. just wanted a unlocked wii so I could watch movies play backup games and such can someone please help
     


  2. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Geez... this is the fourth time I see people downgrade to 4.1 and brick their Wii. You should NEVER downgrade your Wii at all (unless you plan to region change into/from Korean region it is pointless to downgrade).

    Take out your SD card and turn on the Wii,

    * If disc slot flashes twice, you have bootmii in boot2.
    * If disc slot lights up and off (not flashing), you don't have bootmii in boot2.

    If you have bootmii in boot2, load Homebrew Channel from it. Install IOS80-v6944 (no patching) and System Menu 4.3U to unbrick it. You can get former two from Modmii. Use Multiman Manager to install two .wad files.
     
  3. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    it lights up then off
     
  4. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Then your Wii is completely bricked, without bootmii in boot2, time to buy another Wii.

    Seriously, people need to stop downgrading their Wii, it is pointless to do so.
     
    RodrigoDavy and Sicklyboy like this.
  5. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    the downgrade was suggested as 4.3u supposidly prevents you from doing some stuff.
     
  6. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    4.3 only does two thing, neither which apply to you,

    * Bricks Wii with Error 003 if you region changed to/from Korean region
    If you need to do complete region changing involving Korean region, then yes, downgrade to 4.1. This is the only reason to stay at 4.1.

    * Prevents loading foreign games from disc channel
    Use Priiloader, Neogamma, Gecko OS, or WiiLauncher to bypass it. Better yet, use CleanRip to rip the game and play it using USB loader.
     
  7. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    the usbloader never worked for me part of the reason I tried downgrading. I know it doesn't help but I didn't know that then. if I get a new wii what do I do to get it so I can use usbloader. will have the same type of controller if some of these programs don't like it I'm stuck so what would I do.
     
  8. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some people stick to 4.1 because bannerbomb still works, but if you've already upgraded and hacked your Wii then there is no reason to downgrade. There is a "religious" faction that wants to persuade people that 4.1 is better, but I don't understand why. There are probably IOS that have been stubbed, but they are unlikely to be used by homebrew and can just as easily be unstubbed if you're on 4.3 with HBC.

    Anyway, it sounds like you may have put the old system menu on there without unstubbing the IOS that it needs. Be more careful about who you listen to in future.

    Saying it "never worked" and asking what to do is like going to the garage and saying your car is broken, what could be wrong? You need to be a bit more specific, but for a start you need to install cios d2x. Whatever type of storage you were using might not be compatible, or you may just not have had it setup correctly (even down to being in the wrong usb port).
     
  9. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    right now I can't do anything with it so would likely have to start fresh and really not sure what works and what doesn't
     
  10. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    To get USB Loading work you need to install cIOS-d2x (again you can get it from ModMii) and a USB loader (USB Loader GX, WiiFlow, or Configurable USB Loader).

    Rip the game using CleanRip, and put it on your hard drive. Your hard drive should be in FAT32 or NTFS, and have the following folder structure,

    /wbfs
    .../game1/xxx.wbfs
    .../game2/xxx.wbfs

    So on.

    Plug your hard drive into the bottommost USB plug when you lay Wii down flat.
     
  11. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    I tried it wouldnt' let me move in the menu or froze
     
  12. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    by usbloader never worked I mean it never worked it kept saying it couldn't find the drive weather a usb card or hard drive just wouldn't work never got far enough to loading anything said soemthign about the ios if it didn't load try such and such ios and I tried and had trouble getting it installed
     
  13. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    In that case you need to try different USB hard drive. Some USB hard drive just doesn't work on Wii. Make sure you plugged it into the bottommost USB port when you lay Wii down flat.
     
  14. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    I tried a drive and an 8gb stick. niether workednot sure I even got to the point where it was installed right in the first place something to do with the ios I think it kept mentioning it. tried to install ios 249 or which ever it was and that gave me a hard time in any case if I get a new one I want to be able to do it without it getting bricked
     
  15. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Use modmii by XFlak to softmaod your Wii.
    It's the safest most complete way to mod your Wii.
    Make sure you follow the generated guide by the letter.
     
  16. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    You can do it without getting brick. Right now I definitely say get a new one and if you are stuck again we can help. If in doubt, use Modmii.
     
  17. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
  18. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    yeah just wish this one I had hadn't got bricked no idea what to do with it now
     
  19. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    striping for parts or maybe reprogramming the nand directly are the only useful posibilities afaik
    --> ebay
     
  20. wayne foster
    OP

    Newcomer wayne foster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Norway, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    ? striping for parts reprograming the nand? not sure what you mean?
     

Share This Page