Hacking Bricked Switch, can't enter RCM

paraskevas

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2019
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
Greece
I have a Nintendo Switch that's really bricked. It has AutoRCM enabled and was working fine, but one day it decided to die. It's not mine so I can't say for sure what happened.

Here's what I know:
  1. It has AutoRCM and it was working fine
  2. It died when it got plugged into a PC
  3. It seems to draw current (0.45A) when plugged in, it even gets somewhat warmer
  4. I've left it 3+ days charging at 0.45A, which got me thinking that its not really charging... I measured battery voltage with a multi-meter and it was at nominal voltage though
Here's what I've tried with no luck:
  • Tried injecting a payload trough TegraRcmGUI (double checked drivers / payload with my working Switch and it worked fine)
  • Tried using SX Pro, again without any luck
Can it be a hardware issue? How can I debug that? What else could I try to eliminate the possibility that it is a software brick?
 

Budsixz

Gbatemp Gamemer
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
466
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,848
Country
India
I have a Nintendo Switch that's really bricked. It has AutoRCM enabled and was working fine, but one day it decided to die. It's not mine so I can't say for sure what happened.

Here's what I know:
  1. It has AutoRCM and it was working fine
  2. It died when it got plugged into a PC
  3. It seems to draw current (0.45A) when plugged in, it even gets somewhat warmer
  4. I've left it 3+ days charging at 0.45A, which got me thinking that its not really charging... I measured battery voltage with a multi-meter and it was at nominal voltage though
Here's what I've tried with no luck:
  • Tried injecting a payload trough TegraRcmGUI (double checked drivers / payload with my working Switch and it worked fine)
  • Tried using SX Pro, again without any luck
Can it be a hardware issue? How can I debug that? What else could I try to eliminate the possibility that it is a software brick?
The charge rate is considerably lower when charging via PC (in fact so slow that the battery goes down when I install via Goldleaf) and In RCM mode the switch charges slower still.
So try a proper switch charger and keep it charging for a while as it charges pretty slow in RCM mode
then you can push payload normally IMO (also make sure you got the latest payload)
 
Last edited by Budsixz,

thesjaakspoiler

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2018
Messages
1,006
Trophies
0
Age
124
XP
1,537
Country
Afghanistan
Maybe try to inject something like LockPickRCM to see if anything shows up?
That doesn't depend on anything other then being injected correctly.
A messed up SD card can cause funky behavior.

But if your battery is charged to nominal voltage, you might be looking at some hardware failure in the power circuit.
You don't happen to have a 3rd party dock as those were causing some damage to the charging circuit?
https://www.reddit.com/r/NintendoSw...d_my_third_party_dockbricked_nintendo_switch/
Some repairshops can check this but they sometimes charge a lot for it.
Some of those 'I-bought-10-Switches-on-ebay' videos I watched often seem to point at failures in the power circuit.
 

City Hunter

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 16, 2012
Messages
29
Trophies
1
XP
143
Country
You tried that probably already, but did you press the power button for 10-20 seconds so that the switch turns off and then press the power button shortly again to power it up again and then check with the PC if you can inject a payload?
 

paraskevas

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2019
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
Greece
The charge rate is considerably lower when charging via PC (in fact so slow that the battery goes down when I install via Goldleaf) and In RCM mode the switch charges slower still.
So try a proper switch charger and keep it charging for a while as it charges pretty slow in RCM mode
then you can push payload normally IMO (also make sure you got the latest payload)

I've left it for days on PC / original charger / powerbank. Its currently ~24h charging on an official dock and its warm to touch so its doing something.
I forgot to mention that when I put it on dock, the LED flashes and it switches input on my monitor. Not sure if it matters.

Maybe AutoRCM is not working. Did you try to inset jig to start RCM?

I've did, I treat it as AutoRCM is disabled

You tried that probably already, but did you press the power button for 10-20 seconds so that the switch turns off and then press the power button shortly again to power it up again and then check with the PC if you can inject a payload?

I've tried that too... PC doesn't seem to recognize it. Doesn't make sound. It recognizes my working switch. I've even tried different computers

Maybe try to inject something like LockPickRCM to see if anything shows up?
That doesn't depend on anything other then being injected correctly.
A messed up SD card can cause funky behavior.

But if your battery is charged to nominal voltage, you might be looking at some hardware failure in the power circuit.
You don't happen to have a 3rd party dock as those were causing some damage to the charging circuit?
[removed because it won't let me post]
Some repairshops can check this but they sometimes charge a lot for it.
Some of those 'I-bought-10-Switches-on-ebay' videos I watched often seem to point at failures in the power circuit.

Any ideas on how to troubleshoot hw issues? For example what to measure, etc.
 

Budsixz

Gbatemp Gamemer
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
466
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,848
Country
India
I've left it for days on PC / original charger / powerbank. Its currently ~24h charging on an official dock and its warm to touch so its doing something.
I forgot to mention that when I put it on dock, the LED flashes and it switches input on my monitor. Not sure if it matters.



I've did, I treat it as AutoRCM is disabled



I've tried that too... PC doesn't seem to recognize it. Doesn't make sound. It recognizes my working switch. I've even tried different computers



Any ideas on how to troubleshoot hw issues? For example what to measure, etc.
Your case sounds something like what this guy had
https://gbatemp.net/threads/switch-wont-power-on-no-autorcm.547969/#post-8788309
 

paraskevas

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 18, 2019
Messages
18
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
Greece
Your case sounds something like what this guy had

I've just tried it. No luck at all. It now seems to "charge" @ 0.18A.

It drops to 0.01A when I press and hold the power button. It returns to 0.18A when I press power again.
Maybe it doesn't enter RCM but tries to boot CFW the original owner had and stalls because it doesn't find the required files?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Float like a butterfly burns when I pee lol
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    So does that mean your date was not good? It burns now?
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Got two new stds in one night
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Giggity
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    I don't bite! Minus the times when I did bite
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Like 5 minutes ago
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Billie needs her lunch
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ffs papa brought back the cheeseburger pizza it's like the only decent pie they had since the 80s
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm not a fan of papa johns, but that does sound good. We hardly order out pizza, I like making my own, but when we do its donatoes
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I get them like once every two months anymore
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just because it's half a mile from where I live
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Request next time you order, that Shaq deliver it to you
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I want him to buy me a chain also
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Open it right next to the one we have
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys should i make a new thread and just count the amount of posts until kyle, luke or leo joins the thread for fun?
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    kyle's fine, just waiting for that wario joke

    luke and leo though, they yap until the thread's enjoyability is about halved
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Leo is Luke's alterego when he gets hard
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Luke is gone, he got banned. And I'm surprised Leo hasn't yet
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Subway was actually pretty decent tonight
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Wut you get, a seafood and psi salad sub
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Psi had my footlong meatball special
    +1
  • PandaPandel @ PandaPandel:
    i want a meatball sandwich
    now
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Gay
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Bout time you came out and admitted it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Bigonya talks to himself often
    +1
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Bigonya talks to himself often +1