Hacking Brand new R4 - Not booting in DS?

GammaRay

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So, I'm a total newb, but I've been reading about the R4/M3 for a while. I just got mine today from Gameyeeeah (got here quick!).

I promptly popped my 2 GB Kingston MicroSD card into the adapter that came with it, and stuffed it in my laptop. I would have used the USB adapter from the R4, but it's so tight that it scratched the hell out of the contacts immediately. Anyway, I formatted it to FAT(16) and gave it the label R4DS.

Extracted the new 1.11 English files from the R4 site and put the System/Moonshell folders and .dat/.nds into the root of my MicroSD. I set them to hidden so they wouldn't clutter the screen in the future.

Tossed the SD into my R4 (didn't click -- the new ones don't have springs, I hear). Slipped it into my DS, and fired it up...no DS or GBA card inserted, according to my DS menu screen. Okay, I figured maybe I should check with Tetris. Tossed that in, it worked fine. So, maybe it's because I have the DS go to the menu instead of auto-select the GBA or DS slot? I changed it to auto-detect mode, fired it up with the R4...no go.

So, I think I've done everything per instruction on the MicroSD card. It's formatted and the two files and folders are in the root directory.

I'm hoping that the R4 isn't just a dud. I've been itching for this thing for a while, and I have a feeling that returning it will be a raging pain.

Please tell me I did something stupid and newbish. >_>

Thanks.

GammaRay

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Huzzah! I cleaned the contacts, popped it open (just to make sure it didn't have any strange burnouts on the board), put it together...and it lives!

Took my straight to the boot screen. I'm surprised that the contacts on either would have been dirty enough to inhibit things, given how they're both spanky new.

Ah well, I'll play around with it now...see if I can have some fun. 8)