Hacking BootMii + Virgin 4.0E wii HBC install.

desh_thiere

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Hey guys, I am going to a mates place this weekend to softmod his virgin 4.0E wii. I have already updated mine to 4.0E using the hacked methods so I can still install VC and wiiware wads and installed cIOS rev10 etc. Basically I am not a total noob at this, but I still need a good deal of help if anyone can provide it.

Anyway, I will lay out some questions in easy steps
smile.gif
if anyone could answer them, it would be fantastic.

1) I want to use the virgin 4.0E updating method to get my friends wii homebrew enabled, install the HBC and then install cIOS rev10 and the USB loader.

2) Before I do this, I want to use Bootmii to backup his NAND in case something goes wrong and I brick his wii (if I do, he might just kill me)

3) I can follow all of the instructions in this guide http://www.yafaze.com/forums/viewtopic.php...&p=327#p327 to make his wii homebrew ready, but before I do that I want to use bootmii to backup his NAND. Also, is that the best guide to follow for a virgin 4.0 hbc update? There seem to be so many of the bastards floating around these days.

4) Basically, could anyone point me in the direction (or write me) a good guide on how to use Bootmii to backup his NAND for brick protection. I have trawled the bootmii thread and have just been getting progressively more confused. He won't use Bootmii for booting straight into the HBC or anything, he just wants to ensure that I don't brick his wii and Bootmii seems like a good way to do that.

If anyone could help me I would be greatly appreciatve.

On a final note, if that guide is 100% foolproof (if I follow it to the letter) and I won't brick his wii, should I even bother with Bootmii if it is not going to be used for anything else?

Thanks guys, I have never failed to find a good answer on this board.

FenrirWolf

Trophies
XP
Country
United States