Booting into gba mode from Sakura

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by dhjohn, Jul 30, 2009.

Jul 30, 2009
  1. dhjohn
    OP

    Member dhjohn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my m3i zero today, and am loving it (all of the gba games that didn't save correctly with akaio and 3in1 work great on the m3i with the gba exp.), though I noticed there doesn't seem to be a way to boot an actual gba cart from in sakura. Am I just overlooking it, or does sakura not have it built in?

    Also, if it is not built in, does anyone know of any homebrew that will boot in gba mode? (I tried GBA Mode Switcher, but it does not clear the rim of the screen, leaving the edges of the menu visible.)

    Thanks,
    ~dhjohn
     
  2. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
  3. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you talking about running a GBA ROM? If so you need the expansion and just load it like any normal game. I think if you hold "A" when booting up it goes into a GBA mode.
     
  4. RalphUp

    Member RalphUp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    United States
    To boot Slot-2 with M3 cart in hold the B button down when switching on. Holding the A button gets you to the Sakura / Touch Pod selector.
     
  5. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,179
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    wont work anymore since they did the dual boot, A is used to change which boot up OS you want

    try B, I have no idea though,
    touchpad will boot a gba cart from the main menu though
     
  6. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    Lol sorry, after posting I thought that it was probably "B" though I couldn't be bothered to edit it :/. Thanks for the correction!
     
  7. dhjohn
    OP

    Member dhjohn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help. Looks like "B" tells the ds to boot from the gba slot, which works fine, I won't need to boot many actual carts anyway with the M3i's great gba rom support.

    ~dhjohn
     
  8. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
  9. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    A=slot1 DS mode (hold for FW selection screen)
    B=slot2 DS mode
    select=slot2 GBA mode
    last time i checked.
     
  10. Rob_Threat

    Member Rob_Threat GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    East Oakland, Califo'nia
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, same here. I use B & Select all the time to get to my M3Lite. Much easier than the old M3DSS Slot-2 icon (esp when feeling extra lazy). [​IMG]
     

Share This Page