Hacking Boot to emuNAND holding R at boot?

Arizato

Memento Mori
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Messages
499
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
562
Country
Yo!

So I've basically grown tired of going into the Homebrew Launcher with menuhax everytime I want to boot Luma. Is there anyway to make some kind of setup where I can do this:

  • Boot to Luma by holding R
  • Boot to Homebrew Launcher by holding L (Like usual)
  • Boot to Sysnand without doing anything (Like usual)

    Thanks in advance!
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Savior of the broken
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
28,035
Trophies
4
Location
Making a non-binary fuss
XP
39,679
Country
Antarctica
Tried ctrbootmanager, but the only thing I can get from it that you get some kind of list where you choose between Homebrew Launcher or Luma, I can't find any setting where you hold a button to boot into the emunand.
Using Luma should just auto boot into your emuNAND
 

Arizato

Memento Mori
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Messages
499
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
562
Country
Using Luma should just auto boot into your emuNAND

Yes, it works as intended. But I want to get into Luma from coldboot without using any extra menus, as in I just want to hold down a button and it boots into Luma emunand without any additional menus like ctrbootmanager or Homebrew Launcher.
 

nobody231

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
338
Trophies
0
XP
212
Country
United States
Yes, it works as intended. But I want to get into Luma from coldboot without using any extra menus, as in I just want to hold down a button and it boots into Luma emunand without any additional menus like ctrbootmanager or Homebrew Launcher.
Luma 3DS does have a MenuHAX boot.3dsx, but then you'll have no way to use Decrypt9 (or other 9.2 only programs) without disabling MenuHAX.
 

Halvorsen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
2,060
Trophies
0
Website
halcove.com
XP
1,891
Country
United States
Luma does this by default on a9lh. In fact I'm actually putting my old emunand on my SD Card and doing this. Luma allows you to boot into emunand if you hold R during boot. I guess, if you have Menuhax (on a9lh already, sorry), you can configure it to boot HBL on L press, and emuNAND on R.
 
Last edited by Halvorsen,

nobody231

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
338
Trophies
0
XP
212
Country
United States
Luma does this by default on a9lh. In fact I'm actually putting my old emunand on my SD Card and doing this. Luma allows you to boot into emunand if you hold R during boot. I guess, if you have Menuhax (on a9lh already, sorry), you can configure it to boot HBL on L press, and emuNAND on R.
That would require a brand-new payload type. You can't set multiple launch modes per button, that's why boot managers exist. You can only make it so you boot into SysNAND when holding a certain button.
 

Halvorsen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
2,060
Trophies
0
Website
halcove.com
XP
1,891
Country
United States
That would require a brand-new payload type. You can't set multiple launch modes per button, that's why boot managers exist. You can only make it so you boot into SysNAND when holding a certain button.
Hmm? This is completely possible already.

Like I said, if you run updatedsysnand a9lh, you can hold R for emuNAND.

And if you install menuhax on sysNAND and emuNAND, you can set it to run when you hold L. I don't see what a boot manager has to do with anything...
 
Last edited by Halvorsen,

samiam144

Régulier
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2007
Messages
2,875
Trophies
0
XP
1,742
Country
Canada
Tried ctrbootmanager, but the only thing I can get from it that you get some kind of list where you choose between Homebrew Launcher or Luma, I can't find any setting where you hold a button to boot into the emunand.
You can set a timeout in the menu so that it will only show for a few seconds (or not show at all) by changing the "timeout" setting. You can also set buttons to boot whatever you want by changing the "key" value. So yes, you can just hold the specified button and it will boot whatever CFW or homebrew you set it to. Info is here.
 

nobody231

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
338
Trophies
0
XP
212
Country
United States
Hmm? This is completely possible already.

Like I said, if you run updatedsysnand a9lh, you can hold R for emuNAND.

And if you install menuhax on sysNAND and emuNAND, you can set it to run when you hold L. I don't see what a boot manager has to do with anything...
I'm talking about MenuHax. If you had A9LH, then this would be completely unnecessary.
 

Halvorsen

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
2,060
Trophies
0
Website
halcove.com
XP
1,891
Country
United States
I'm talking about MenuHax. If you had A9LH, then this would be completely unnecessary.
So am I. In addition to a9lh, however, this will provide exactly what OP wants.
-booting to sysnand without holding anything (updatedsysnand)
-booting to emunand with R
-booting to HBL with L (Menuhax).

You'd have to time holding the buttons different ways while using a bootloader, and booting to HBL wouldn't work out perfectly as it could maybe interfere with Menuhax.
 

nobody231

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
338
Trophies
0
XP
212
Country
United States
So am I. In addition to a9lh, however, this will provide exactly what OP wants.
-booting to sysnand without holding anything (updatedsysnand)
-booting to emunand with R
-booting to HBL with L (Menuhax).

You'd have to time holding the buttons different ways while using a bootloader, and booting to HBL wouldn't work out perfectly as it could maybe interfere with Menuhax.
Is that a new feature in MenuHAX? Because that's new to me.
 

nobody231

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2014
Messages
338
Trophies
0
XP
212
Country
United States
No. It may be my explanation that's confusing, but it's simply holding down a button to trigger Menuhax. This works without a9lh too. It's almost always was a thing.
Yes, you can boot MenuHAX by holding a button, or choose that holding a button will make MenuHAX not boot, in the case of autobooting MenuHAX. But after that, the payload is what handles the rest. Therefore, you can't use MenuHAX with generic payload to boot into Homebrew Loader with L, or Luma3DS with R, without creating your own MenuHAX payload.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: Click on your profile pic in the top right corner, and you'll get the profile menu popup, with... +2