black screen after using GX usb loader !

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by satel, Oct 28, 2011.

Oct 28, 2011
  1. satel
    OP

    Member satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Location:
    a CIA in EMULAND
    Country:
    Tokelau
    hi,
    i just tried GX loader for the first time,i think it was the IOS222 version of the usb GX loader,i got immediate black screen,i then rebooted the Wii but the problem now when i click on homebrew channel it also gives black screen !! why is this & how can i fix this ? thanks
     
  2. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    You probably used an old version of gx usb loader which is unstable & have bricked several wiis before .

    Anyway hopefully a reinstall of homebrew channel will fix this which can be done using priiloader if you have it or use an exploit to run the installer .

    If it works then the problem is fixed & you should now delete the version you used & download the latest or another usb loader .

    In case that doesn't it still doesn't open after a reinstall then its something more serious but I will talk about that when it happens .
     
  3. satel
    OP

    Member satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Location:
    a CIA in EMULAND
    Country:
    Tokelau
    its the latest version 2.3 of the GX usb loader,i have bootmii installed but i forgot how i used it to install the homebrew channel its been years.
     
  4. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Weird haven't heard about the new gx causing this issue .

    Anyway what system menu are you on now ?
     
  5. satel
    OP

    Member satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Location:
    a CIA in EMULAND
    Country:
    Tokelau
  6. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Okay the simplest way to reinstallis is using bannerbomb for 4.2 from here http://bannerbomb.qoid.us/ . Just follow the instructions there & you will be able to reinstall hbc .

    If you can't figure it or want to take the chance to update your wii hacks then get modmii from here http://gbatemp.net/topic/207126-modmii-for-windows/ , tell it your wii isn't hacked & follow the instructions it gives you .

    In both cases since you already have bootmii it will be safer if you make a backup of your nand first or make sure you still have the backup if you made one before .
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. satel
    OP

    Member satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Location:
    a CIA in EMULAND
    Country:
    Tokelau
    i used bootmii to restore old image & it worked but ios needed update so i used pimp my wii to fix & update all that needed to be updated then i started wiiflow loader with 222 ios same game froze then i rebooted now i have a message on screen saying system corrupted,so its back to bootmii & installing the old backup image. how do i update the system files ? is pimp my wii reliable ?
     
  8. Etheboss

    Member Etheboss Official LULWUT supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,444
    Location:
    Around somewhere
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sounds like a cIOS thing to me, try reinstalling your cIOS
     
  9. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Modmii can be used to update your ios & hack as I said . As for pimp my wii I never used it but I keep reading about people here suggesting to stay away from it so I am not sure .
     
  10. Etheboss

    Member Etheboss Official LULWUT supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,444
    Location:
    Around somewhere
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Latest Pimp My Wii should be no problem, but it has less controll compared to ModMii (updates go automatic), witch makes Modmii safer in my book..
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. satel
    OP

    Member satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Location:
    a CIA in EMULAND
    Country:
    Tokelau
    ok i have just used ModMii for PC & it downloaded over 40 wad cIOS & IOS files do i need to install all these with a wad manager ?
     
  12. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    You might as well. What will happen is all of your IOS's and cIOS's will be up to date.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. satel
    OP

    Member satel Luigi's Big Brother

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Location:
    a CIA in EMULAND
    Country:
    Tokelau
    ok will do that,thanks,by the way is this the latest version of the ios49 ? cIOS249[56]-d2x-v6
     

Share This Page