Best R4 Firmware Available Overall?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by mariomaniac33, Sep 3, 2008.

Sep 3, 2008
  1. mariomaniac33
    OP

    Member mariomaniac33 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    I have been wanting to know if the clone R4 firmwares are any better than the last official v1.18 R4 update. It doesn't look like R4 will be releasing another official update (but we can't confirm this until September 15th).

    My question is which R4 firmware is better out of the three:

    Official R4 v1.18
    R4 SDHC v1.21 (from www.r4sdhc.com)
    R4-III v3.02 (from www.r4dsl.net)


    R4 SDHC reports what they have updated, but R4-III does not. I'm assuming that both of them are clones from different companies, but does one of the firmwares stand out to be the best? Or are they both so bad that they are a waste of time to even try?

    Oh, and I have an original R4 by the way (I have already upgraded to CycloDS because of the Wii-DS compatibility issue, but I would like to get the most out of my R4 since I have two DSes).


    If anyone has any ideas, let me know. Hopefully one of them is significantly better...
     


  2. MysteriousCookie

    Newcomer MysteriousCookie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Australia
    firmware is the same for the clones
    only the text is different
     
  3. beve

    Banned beve Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Australia
    you carnt run them on real R4's if thats what you want
    i made firmware that look like them search custom firmware

    if that what you want and use ysmenu if you want game compatibility
     
  4. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    beve, seriously, shut up. those aren't custom firmware. those are just clone firmwares that you've downloaded from clone sites.
    you can run them on your DS, but all of the latest firmware is the same.
    no differences in compatibility or features- all are the same.
    just use the real genuine firmware.
     
  5. mariomaniac33
    OP

    Member mariomaniac33 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Oh really? The clone websites made fake updates? Figures.... it's a typical thing for a clone company to do. I think I may try the YSMenu technique on my R4, but just to make sure, can you still use the R4 v1.18 firmware with the YSMenu if you replace YSMenu with Moonshell? Or will that not work?
     
  6. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you can, I got just about every clone firmware to work on my original R4. They either just need a small patch or to be encrypted. Its fairly easy but useless.

    The clones use the same exact firmware as the original R4 except for some hex editing here and there. They don't have their own firmware they basically steal the R4's firmware which means the clones won't release any updates to the firmware when the R4 dies out.
     
  7. beve

    Banned beve Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Australia
    Seriously i could put game compatibility updates in but you guys abuse them so im not!
     
  8. netter

    Newcomer netter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I vote for ysmenu~!! [​IMG]
     
  9. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You couldnt do that to save your life.
     
  10. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    i think it's good to have someone doing a few updates but tht person has to be genuine and i think only Yesu can be trusted
     
  11. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dude, seriously, are yu Eric Bana in disguise? You can't even set up YSMenu correctly, how do you reckon that you could put game compatibility updates in? It's a little harder than hex editing a string? Unless of course you're thinking of hex editing YSMenu to look like another one of your super duper h4x0r firmwares. It's something I can actually see you attempting, but be forewarned that it would take about 10 seconds for people to figure it out and a lifetime for them to stop laughing at you.
     
  12. NatsuMatto

    Member NatsuMatto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    Aside from adding compatibility for a small number of games, what are the benfits of using YSMenu?
     
  13. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Don't use any of the clones firmwares. They're not better at all, because they're just quick hacks.

    I would recommend YSMenu. It takes a bit of work to set up, but once you have you have one of the best loaders available with near-perfect game compatibility.
     
  14. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    built-in gba support and etc, also lets you load nes and gbc games if you get the the emulators that run on a gba pak.
     
  15. NatsuMatto

    Member NatsuMatto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    So if you don't have a Slot2 card, the only benefit is that you can run those few games that don't work with the R4 1.18 firmware?

    Seems like a lot of work.
     
  16. beve

    Banned beve Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Australia
    im not putting game compatibility IN even if you can believe i can or not

    wheres the quit gba temp button i want off!
     
  17. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well YOU cant add any game compatability. Just Hex-Editing aint coding...
     
  18. Forget_the_Rest

    Newcomer Forget_the_Rest Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  19. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Top right corner. Shaped like an X.

    Please click it.
     
  20. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what, saying 'el0, c@n yooo ban meeh?' lol
     

Share This Page